AlliGator (Allison & Grady) are Hitched!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Dresden
May 11th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Allison and Grady got married on a beautiful spring day in Germany. The sun was shining bright and the birds were churping - beautiful sights and sounds! The whole week before had been dedicated to preparing for it - preparing wedding favors, the programs, the music, talking about flowers and decorations ... the whole 9 yards.

As the maid of honor I had the special responsibility of being available for Allison's specific requests - however big or small. Being in a foreign country with a foreign language means this is no small task! I was really proud when I was able to go all the way to the photo shop on bike to buy an album that Allio wanted to give Grady as a gift, pick one out and purchase it when no one in the store spoke English and I didn't speak any German. Whew! But I became more and more independent as time went on.

The morning of the wedding (May 11th) I was in charge of getting flowers, including corsages (spelling?), boutaneers and bouquets. They had a civil service in the morning and their ceremony at the castle in the late afternoon. So they needed flowers
Allison, morning May 11thAllison, morning May 11thAllison, morning May 11th

Allison in her civil ceremony dress.
for both! I got a ride from my dad to the flower shop in the morning but he was cheuffering (spelling?) my sis around for hair and makeup so he couldn't wait for them to finish. The Chinese-German shop owners did not speak English so I primarly used simple English and body language to show and tell them what I wanted. Thankfully about 45 mins to an hour I had bouquets, boutaneers and corsages in hand and a bonus 1/4 cut pineapple (complimentary gift, I guess). I had tram fare to take the tram back but because it was such a beautiful spring day I just walked back.

Allio came in time to get dressed into her morning dress, grab flowers, get a few picks and go. She liked them, thankfully. (She told ME to pick out her flowers!). The bigger job was going to be for the evening ceremony.

That afternoon a lady named Merika came and got Molly Maass (Grady's sister) and I and took us to the Asian flower market. They had a large selection and we chose a bit of each kind. The total came to way above our budget and we were on
FlowersFlowersFlowers

Me and Molly and some of the girls preparing flowers right before the wedding.
limited time, but the lady was kind enough to help us get the right amount.

When we got to the castle we were a little behind so we worked quickly to get 10 vases of flowers done. I worked on Allio and my bouquets and the girls took care of the rest. Molly and I had to leave when it wasn't finished yet to get ready but the girls there helping (Lisa, Amy, Lynette, even Phil did a vase!). I was very grateful for that.

The wedding went really well - Allison was beautiful. I sang "The Wedding Song" by Peter (or Paul?) from Peter, Paul and Mary and my dad accompanied me. Grady and Allison cried so it meant a lot to me.

The weather was beautiful the whole evening and everyone enjoyed themselves. The reception was inside the castle and the slideshow that Joel prepared was well received.

Allison and Grady spent their first night in another castle down the road.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Wedding PartyWedding Party
Wedding Party

The Wedding Party on the left and family on the right.


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb