A East German Week


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Dresden
January 12th 2009
Published: March 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Die FrauenkircheDie FrauenkircheDie Frauenkirche

I feel like I have seen this church grow up. The last 2 times I was in Dresden it was being built and I finally got to see it complete.
It officially is 2009 and to kick off the New Year our program has us go to a different city with 25 other participants from my program and have a midyear seminar. The seminar that I was attending was in Dresden, Germany around the first full week of January. The seminar was mostly to talk about how the program has gone so far and give constructive feedback. Also you had to work with a group and create a presentation on a current German issue. My group all happened to be in North Rheine Westphalia and that helped us a lot since we could meet up and work on our presentation about immigration.

The week kicked off with a welcome and dinner in Dresden. We were staying at a hostel paid for by the program and most of the activities for the seminar were at a hotel about a block away. Dresden had tons of snow and was very cold. It really kind of made me feel at home. The welcome and dinner were fun since some of the people I had not seen since in Washington DC at the very beginning of this program. Tuesday was a day for giving
Dresden Opera HouseDresden Opera HouseDresden Opera House

On Thursday night we all went to a concert in this Opera hall.
feedback about the program. We went through all the aspects of it and told what worked and what didn’t. It was interesting to hear stories from other people and see that I am very luck with my host family and living situation. I also got the opportunity to talk to the leader of my program and tell her about my host family and looking for an internship. Which I still had not found. On Wednesday we had to present our projects. My group’s presentation went really well for how unorganized we felt at times. We watched the other groups and realized how lucky we were being so close that we could meet and discuss our project. After the projects we went on a city tour of Dresden. The city was totally bombed during WWII but it has been slowly rebuilt. It really is a beautiful city but weird to think most of it is only like 40 years old. Of course it was a bitterly cold day and most of the tour was outside. I had loved the city the last time I visited Germany between my freshman and sophomore year of college and it was fun to see how
Der ZwingerDer ZwingerDer Zwinger

This is a palace that is right in the middle of Old City Dresden.
much work has been done since then. On Thursday we had a day trip planned for Leipzig which is only about an hour from Dresden. We had a speaker from the Consulate and a city tour planned. I had called a friend that lived there and it was fun that we were able to meet up with him there. We went back to Dresden and went out to a bar as a huge group before having to leave the next morning.

Most people went home after the seminar but I was meeting up with a few friends in Berlin since I was only like an hour and a half away. We met up with all the people in my program that lived in Berlin and went to a few bars. The next day we did a little sightseeing and hit up an amazing hamburger place for dinner. We had a relaxing night since most of us were very tired due to the fact we had been traveling for almost 2 weeks. The next morning a friend that lives in Berlin took us around to a few famous sights we missed and brought us to an amazing burrito place. Trust
Tile WallTile WallTile Wall

This wall is in the old city and is all little tiles.
me if I miss any type of food it is good Mexican since it just does not exist in Germany. We left Berlin on Sunday and headed for our respective homes. I was pretty much exhausted and ready for a nice break from traveling for a while but glad I was able to see all that I did during the last 12 days



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Wupper CrewWupper Crew
Wupper Crew

This is the group of us that attend Wuppertal Uni and we all were in Dresden together.
Leipzip RathausLeipzip Rathaus
Leipzip Rathaus

This is the main old city square and home of the city hall.
Bach CityBach City
Bach City

The church this statue is in front of has the remains of Bach
Train to BerlinTrain to Berlin
Train to Berlin

After the Seminar a few friends and I took a train to Berlin to meet other people in our program.
Brandenburg GateBrandenburg Gate
Brandenburg Gate

Every other time I have been in Germany this was under construction. I finally get to actually see it.
East Side GalleryEast Side Gallery
East Side Gallery

This a section of the old Berlin Wall.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb