Tschuss Deutschland!!!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Dresden
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

First of all, must say how difficult it's been to find the time to write this blog. I underestimated just how much foot-work is required when travelling!! My feet are sore, but satisfied.
We are now spending one night in Dresden but I must talk about my experiences in Berlin, as it's definately a city I will return to.
We spent 3 nights in Germany; 2 at a chain Backpacker hostel called Meninger St City, in the Schoneberg district; then the final night at 'Easterner Hostel' in Berlin Mitte (Centre). The latter is highly recommended- although v basic amenities, the local info was a godsend! Plus, you couldn't ask for a better location. A short walk from all the key sights (which I will bore you with in a moment.)
As you can imagine, 3 nights and 4 days in Berlin constitutes a lot of sightseeing, museum-going and picture-taking. So I've highlighted my favourite places, in the hope that my experience of the places can help other in future.
1) Parisian Platz (Brandenburger Tor). If you haven't heard of the place, you would certainly recognise it if you were any kind of concious being on November 9th 1989....The Tor was packed on this day, for the reunification of Berlin. The square and Tor are breathtaking. I honestly remember seeing masses of Berliners crowded here on the BBC when I was little- climbing on top of the wall and celebrating. It was amazing to visit a place that was for so long, a border between west and east, democracy and soviet rule; then ultimately a place that came to symbolise freedom and unification.
2) East Side Gallery. I LOVED this. Again, back to the Cold War, but I really couldn't get enough of this (almost haunting) experience. ESG is the longest remaining strip of the Berlin Wall- It contains the infamous painting of the German and soviet leaders kissing- which as you can imagine, caused no end of controversy at the time. Aside from the obvious sense of oppression you get from walking down this wall- there is a lighter side....seriously. It seemes wrong but somehow a fake beach as been added behind the Wall, on the side of the River Spree. Yes, you can now celebrate German congruity with a lovely pint sitting on a deckchair in the sun. Bizarre I know, but was strangely fun!!
3) Lustgarten (Berliner Dom and Altes Museum). Go visit this at night! The Cathedral and Museum are astonishingly beautiful. And albeit largely reconstructed after the allied bombings in WW2- they really do upstage many other European icons I have seen yet. When you visit this in the evening, the uplighting is fantastic- plus you have the bonus of no busy crowds!
4) Zoologischer Garten. Although no political ramifications.. I had to mention this place because its preeetty!! haha. Reminded me abit of the Botanical Gardens in Melbourne. Its feels so wrong that a piece of the countryside should be this close to the city- but it was a welcome break from the hussle and bussle. We contemplated hiring a rowing boat, but after much debate decided that I would probably steer us into a tree/monument. 😉
I must mention also a great Indian Curry house on the 'mile long beer stretch' and a soon as I remember the name (I'm afraid the Pina Colada may have stolen that from me) will add it to this blog.

Now Dresden.... sadly because we are leaving for Prague tomorrow, I can't say I've seen masses of it. I have been to the Armories and the Old Masters Gallery (which contains some fantastic Otto Dix works (I used to idolise this painter in 6th form!) and Raphael's Sixtine Madonna. The city was practically wiped out during WW2, and was left largely in ruins during soviet rule, but nowadays is a huge tourist hotspot. And credit were it's due- they have done a great job reconstructing.

Anyway I have to got now- I think someone else needs the computer!!!

Tschuss. KTxx

ps. pics coming soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb