Day 1 in Magdeburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony-Anhalt » Magdeburg
May 17th 2009
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

When I was 16, I started an online ‘livejournal,’ which seems silly now - the entries, that is. I do, however, miss writing in it regularly, as it was oddly rejuvenating. As I sat in my hostel without internet or telephone capabilities, I thought (a lot): “Maybe it would be a good idea to start the journal up again!” Perhaps out of boredom, or perhaps because this is actually a good idea, I plan on logging my trip as much as possible.

So, where do I begin? As I told many of you, Magdeburg does not have an airport. When I arrived in Berlin yesterday, I had to take a bus to the train station, then a train to Magdeburg. The experience was certainly interesting. First off, the Berlin airport is shockingly small. Who knew? I was so tired that, upon hearing some American girls chatting, I asked if they, too, were heading to the train station. Alas, they were not but needed help from the information desk regardless. We pranced over to the “I” desk, and they immediately started speaking English to the woman in charge. I thought to myself: “Americans really are that crass, aren’t we?” I stopped her and took over. The first time I visited Germany, I knew German somewhat, but certainly not as well as I do now - thanks, in large part, to Kevin. The woman was much nicer to me than to the other girls. I often equate this to the American hatred for Spanish-speakers in ‘our’ country. If we get upset that Mexican immigrants willingly speak Spanish at Wal-Mart, why should we also feel entitled to speak English in Germany, or anywhere? Perhaps this is a moot point, but I’ve never heard it said.

Anyway, after purchasing a ticket for the bus to the train station, it started down-pouring. As I stood outside waiting for the bus, I realized that I looked completely and utterly American. Why did I not look at the Weather Channel before coming? I had on capris, sandals and a zip-down hoodie, while the Germans adorned parkas, jeans and closed-toed shoes. In an attempt to make up for my German-ness deficit, I tried to charm them as much as possible with my language skills. It worked sometimes.

Okay, people, my suitcase is enormous. I got it for Christmas when I was 17 before leaving for an orchestra trip to England. The thing is unnecessarily huge. German men looked at me with pity and helped me load the thing wherever I went. In fact, a man helped me load the suitcase onto the bus to the train station and, unlike most Germans in the stuffy (and packed) bus, watched over me during the course of the ride. I was packed into a corner by the front door, and the bus-driver opened the door while I was standing there, stubbing my toe. Welcome to Germany!

I just realized how negative this entry sounds so far. I’m having a good time; I really am. Upon arriving at the train station, I got my ticket and waited for about 45 minutes at the 14th Plaetze. The train ride was fascinating, as we left Berlin and entered the countryside of former East Germany. Most of the countryside is grassland and looks a lot like Nebraska.

This is where I get to Magdeburg. The city can hardly be described as a city. It is more like a town with unreliable bus service and no taxis. Not that I planned on taking taxis, just that I, for whatever reason, expected a flurry of cars and taxis everywhere, as in Munich or Rome. The only place to find a taxi is at the Hauptbahnhof (train station). I took one to my hostel, because I was so exhausted, and the driver thought I was crazy. He was shocked when I asked him to take me! The ride was inexpensive, especially compared to Rome - only 8 euros for a trip across the city.

My hostel is really nice! I have my own room and bathroom for 30 euros/night. This is a good thing, because my apartment plans fell through. After soaking in the shower for 30 minutes, I (somehow) found my way to Breiter Weg, where I thought I would be living. The two students spoke Germany very fast. I managed to hold a conversation by listening to the first few and last few words of each sentence. If you know German, you know this is possible! It turns out that they need somebody to stay an entire year. They helped me contact other zwischenmiete-seekers, and I have an appointment to look at an apartment in 1.5 hours. The apartment is unfurnished, but I plan on taking it regardless. I can buy a blow-up mattress at Allee, an enormous department store-like shopping center. The three students in this apartment said it would be okay for me to stay for 3 months. At this point, that sounds good enough to me.

After leaving Breiter Weg, I found a small internet Café to email Kevin and my parents. I have no phone access, as my ‘handy’ (cellphone) only let me call Kevin for a few minutes, then cut me off. By that time, most stores had closed, and because it is Sunday, no stores are open. In any case, my parents and Kevin know that I made it via email. Something about the internet café made me really homesick. It was an odd feeling, in that I almost never felt homesick during my semester in Rome.

Magdeburg is much different from what I expected. The East is much different, and Magdeburg is (as I was told on the plane) perhaps the most eastern ‘city’ of all. I am growing to love Magdeburg, of course, but for now, I cannot help but become slightly depressed by how poor much of the city appears. A majority of shops are closed (for good), and there are “Vermieten” (“Rent”) signs on every corner. Almost every apartment building is half-way vacant, and most of the people living here are elderly. As Dani and Olli told me, when the students are off during winter, you rarely see young people in Magdeburg. The only reason youth come here, they said, is for cheap schooling.

On a different note…I slept for 12 hours last night. After arriving in Berlin, I never took a nap and got back to my room around 7:30pm. I called Kevin, got cut off, then lied in my bed and watched a hilarious German reality TV show. I fell asleep shortly thereafter and woke up at what I thought was 9:30am. Given that I had an appointment at 11am and told my hotel that I would eat breakfast, I took a shower quickly and got ready. Guess what? It was 9:30pm. Do you realize how often this happens to me? A couple of months ago, I thought it was 7:30am, so I got completely ready. Turns out, it was only 1:30am. In any case, I went back to bed and woke up at 7:45am. I went down and got breakfast alone, which was oddly nice. I read a book, ate some broetchen, kaese and joghurt, and relaxed.

With all of that said, this is going to be an amazing experience. The city depresses me not because I ‘do not like it’ but because (I think, at least) we often forget East Germany. I cannot emphasize enough: this is the former GDR, and most people (non-Germans) are unaware of how poorly it is fairing. I am about to get a taste of what living in a post-communist society is truly like.

Let me put that another way: I am, in no way, trying to argue that Magdeburg is like a developing society. But, it is certainly not like living in any old Western city. I have not heard an English-speaking tourist yet, and if you have traveled through Western Europe, you know that is an oddity. In the end, that will be the virtue of this trip. I have only spoken English once - when the handy-salesman initiated it. Otherwise, my German is improving by the second.

I start my job with DIE LINKE tomorrow. Hopefully, in my next entry, I can say my first day went well, and I have a place to live!

Auf Wiedersehen,
Christine


Advertisement



22nd May 2009

Yay!
This is very entertaining. Keep it up! :D Btw, you might want to translate some...or all...of the German words. I speak Spanish!!!!! (But not really...)

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb