St. Goar


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate
October 16th 2005
Published: October 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Following my lavish days in Salzburg I rushed through the rest of Europe to make time to see my friends back in Cork. A shame I didn't have more time but thats always how it goes. There are always places your not going to be able to see and adventures you just have to turn down. But I did make time for this one. Rick Steves, who I took with me on this trip, highly recommended this place so I detoured to see some castles and taste some wine. Great trip! In fact I think a day and two nights would be perfect. I had one night and half a day... great time though. I woke up EARLY! Which was surprising since 20 12 year olds kept me up half the night running down the hall. I won't tell you what time I think early is but I was up before sunset. I checked out and walked out to a stunning view of the city. I came in the night before after dark and it was my first view of the town. The river was warm and the air was cold so there was fog everywhere! It was so beautiful. My pictures just don't do it justice. I walked up the hill behind my hostel towards the St Goar castle. It was a cool castle. It even had a guy dressed as a knight unwisely letting my 12 year old friends play with bows and arrows. Sucker. How do those kids stay up half the night and still get up before me?? And then they get arrows.... I steared clear of them and gave myself a tour alone. There was a little museum and cool views. Then I walked into the town and was attacked by local shops. They come at you from everywhere trying to get you to taste and try things. I met a man named Crazy Bernie who will sell you any of the local wines and brandies. He let me try their local peach brandy (goood!) and tells me any of my friends are welcome to buy his stuff online. As much as I liked his name, I kept looking and found a man who ran and cooked in his pub and also made his own wines and brandies. I asked him about Crazy Bernie and he said his stuff was the same only cheaper. And it was! Half the price. Crazy Bernie's gift was sales, not pricing. This guy was a chef and just left his shop unattended. If he happened to look out the window and see someone maybe he'd come out. But much better prices! I also had Ghoulash for lunch- good stuff. Overall an adventure. I headed up to the train station and waited for my train to Amsterdam.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

St Goar Castle St Goar Castle
St Goar Castle

Not a good picture. It was much bigger but I could't get a better view
View from the top of the castleView from the top of the castle
View from the top of the castle

It was a really big castle- there were foor ground levels that were still left you could walk around in. The were carved out the side of the mountain


Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb