German Grammar Stinks!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Trier
October 21st 2005
Published: October 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

This morning in class we worked on grammar. Our professor wanted to go over some of the stuff that will probably be on the placement exam on the 31st. I couldn't do any of it!!!! It was all way over my head. It made it really noticeable that I've never learned grammar in a classroom setting. I didn't know any of the terms for certain sentence structures or times. What in the world is a 'Participal attribute', or 'participal 2'? I now have a week to go back and learn all the different grammar terms and what sentence structures belong with each term.... YIKES! It really stinks, cause I know what 'wurde gemacht werden' (would be done) means, I just don't know if it's Konjuktive 2, Konjuktive, Präteritum, Präsens, and so forth. I need to know that though for the exam. Anyway... I guess I know what I'm doing for the next week. I just hope that I can still make it into Oberstufe (upper level). It doesn't seem quite right that I may not just because I don't know the term for everything. Ok, I'll stop complaining now. It just wasn't a good feeling this morning when I had no idea what the prof was talking about when we had to change one sentence from one type of speech to another. It's just time to buckle down and learn it all.

On a brighter note..... Graham (a student from Hamline) is coming to Trier this evening. He's spending the weekend here =) Matt, Jaime and I are meeting him at the train station and then going out with him and some other friends. Should be a fun night. Tomorrow my group (and several others) are going to Bernkastel-Kues. =) I'm really looking forward to it (although it's supposed to be rainy all day). Tomorrow night is a party for the international students. Should be a fun weekend. Mon. I'll try to come into the comp lab and post the pictures from the weekend. Gotta get going now. I'm meeting Katrin in town in a bit. Have a great weekend everyone! Ciao!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb