The German Countryside


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Trier
October 8th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I must say, I am very impressed with Germany. It's very clean, beautiful, the people are friendly and the culture is strong. At least, Munich and the countryside....

I woke up to the soothing Landscheid church bells outside of the house. They chime about 3 or 4 times a day. It was also a beautiful day. We slowly got up and gathered downstairs for coffee and breakfast and of course chatting. They have the AFN (Air Force) Network here, so they get American TV shows, but what is a little interesting is that every commercial has to do with the Air Force. It is a little shocking, some of the ads.

Around noon, we decided to go for a walk/hike down one of the farm roads into the countryside and forest. It was perfect. Very quiet and relaxing. We walked up these rolling hills where we saw a herd of sheep (YAY!!) and some horses. Part of the walk was in this forest too so it was a nice mix of scenery. I loved the little beetles we saw walking on the path, and also the furry little caterpillars and wild mushrooms. We did tease that in the forest we might run into Hansel and Gretel. HAH!

Came back to some Mead they got at a local castle and snacks out on Colleen's deck. A great afternoon. Lots of wedding chatting, Colleen is getting married in July, I thoroughly enjoyed hearing all the details.

Came inside to hang out and did some planning on how to get back to London. I did feel like I had a second wind and wanted to plan a short trip to Belgium before I had to get back to London, but ticket prices were not as friendly. I opted to stay one more night with Colleen and then head back to London on Tues, spend one night there and then fly out back to the US on Wed. I get back to SF Wed evening. Can't wait to see you RYAN!

Colleen made another great dinner and we celebrated Carrie's birthday early. It's on Tuesday. I also got to see Carrie's jewelry collection, she sells it and had a fun time shopping and trying on lots of cool bling! I also saw some of the pottery they had bought in the small towns outside of Landscheid. Gorgeous stuff. A few bottles of wine later, we relaxed upstairs.

Carrie is leaving early tomorrow and we're going to drive her to the Frankfurt airport.

Aufwedershen!

Advertisement



8th October 2007

Keyboards?
You started off having a difficult time with the keyboards. Have you been able to find keyboards with the U.S. layout or have you just gotten used to it? First time I typed on a German keyboard, I popped up a web browser and tried to type in www.yahoo.com. It came out www.zahoo.com. At first I thought, "how clever! It translated it for me!" "...wait a minute... why are the Y and the Z keys switched?" Turned out there were a lot more keys in the "wrong" places than that!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb