Wismar


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Mecklenburg-Vorpommern » Wismar
January 19th 2012
Published: January 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello again :-)

This is a back dated blog to the 19th to include another town I visited in Mecklenburg Vorpommern called Wismar.

One hours journey by train from Rostock will have you at the outskirts of this historic harbour town, and everything is within walking distance.



The walk from the train station to the first attraction I saw was a matter of 5 minutes or less! The first attraction I'm talking about is the Church of St-Nikolai and its hard to miss really, you would have to be blind, or blind drunk to walk past this building and not see it. Lucky I was in neither of these states on that particular day.



1 Euro will give you access to the church and its impressive interior. Now I'm not religious but you don't need to be to appreciate the beauty and history of these massive churches. Built 1381–1460 its survived bombing during WWII unlike some of the other churches in Wismar.



I took the opportunity to take so photographs from inside the church. Some of the photographs have been edited heavily in Photoshop to give some intersting results. Thats why i like doing HDR (High Dynamic Range) photography. You don't always know how the photo will turn out, there is an element of chance and surprise with the final picture and many different outcomes can be achevied.



After St. Nikolai I went for a walk through the town square, or market place which is very large. It wasn't until I just had a look on wiki that I found out it's the largest in the whole WORLD! Na just Germany...10,000 square metres. Worth a look-see. Everything is so close you have to excuse not to see them. Unless you run out of thyme, like I did. So one quick look at whats left of St. Mary's church and then it was on the train and back to the office.



Hope you enjoy the pics, I only wish I had more Thyme in Wismar. There is never enough Thyme!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



5th February 2012
HDR3

Cool picture.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb