Day 2: Uelzen - Haue


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Lower Saxony
June 4th 2008
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 2: Uelzen - Haue, 104,56 km, cycling time 6:37, average 15,77 km/h

The weather has cleared up, but the tent is still wet when I pack it. I wake up with a heavy headache, probably due to the weather.

I ride parallel to the B2 to Bad Bevensen. Here I make a stop in a pharmacy to get some headache pills. I think I have some packed somewhere, but I don't want to dig through all my bags on the road,
My headaches seem to be obvious, because in the pharmacy I am asked whether I want to take a pill right away. I want.

From Bad Bevensen I ride along the Else-Seitenkanal to Lauenburg, Here I join the Elberadweg, a cycling route along the river Elbe, which I followed last your up the river to Dresden. This time I take the opposite direction towards Geesthacht and Hamburg. The Elberadweg between Lauenburg and Geesthacht follows a nice hilly trail through the woods along the raised bank of the Elbe. Areally nice trail, but I can really feel the more than 30kg of baggage my bike is carrying. Especially on gravel and sand the bike needs more strength.

In Geesthacht I buy some stuff to eat, then I cross over to the southern bank of the Elbe. Here are some camping sites. I decide to call it a day in Haue.

The camping site hosts mostly permanent residents, but I am received friendly.

Later that evening I learn to handle knifes more carefully in the future. I had cut off some slices of salami and had put the ope knife into the plastic bag with the food. A few minutes later I moved the bag and put it on my inflatable sleeping pad, where the knife promptly cut a hole in the pad. A short hiss and I lay on the hard floor. The following night will be a bit uncomfortable.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb