Once around the pond - what, where and why


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Lower Saxony » Wolfsburg
May 30th 2008
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK, let's see what we can do with this blog thingy...

This is just some information for all those who don't know me or haven't heard from me personally what I'm up to.

After my first bike tour last summer (on the Elberadweg) I found a description of the North Sea Cycle Route on the web. I really liked the idea of doing that route, but with 6,000 km it is a bit long for a regular vacation. But I planned to try it sometimes in a few years.

During this spring I realized I really needed a longer break from work, and I remembered that interesting north sea route. Why not? After all, I already made 800 km on a totally flat route, with nice weather and a tailwind most of the time. How much harder can 6,000 km during all kind of weather and through countries like Norway and Scotland be? :-)

I plan to do an average of 100 km per day, 5 days a week. This should be enough to make the complete route in about 3 months.
I'll probably start next Tuesday (June 2nd.) My first stop will be Uelzen, where my bike (a recumbent from HP Velotechnik) will by serviced by the dealer I bought if from.

If I find the time before I start I'll post something about the equipment I'll plat to take with me.

A german version of this blog can be found here: semper d

Advertisement



Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb