Braunschweig & Hannover


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Lower Saxony » Hannover
March 25th 2009
Published: March 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A mall in BraunschweigA mall in BraunschweigA mall in Braunschweig

This is one of the buildings that looks nice and old, but was actually reconstructed after being destroyed in the war.
So, yesterday I gave my first talk at TU Braunschweig and it went very well. Everyone was really nice and they really liked my work. I went to dinner with most of the students from the graphics lab. The city is really clean and friendly. I only took a couple photos, so I'll attach them on here (the first 2 on the page).

This morning I got up and took 2 trains to get to Hannover. At first, I wasn't impressed with the city since it seemed dirtier than Braunschweig. For example, around the University EVERY single building had graffiti all over it. Also, the building(s) that contain the institute I visited today were kind of older and run down (not "old" in the cool European, many hundreds of years old sense...but old like 1960's old). But after I saw some demos of the work they do here, and then gave my talk again, I went out to the city center and it was much nicer. I went to dinner with 2 students who were really nice. My talk today also went well and I got some positive feedback.

The weather has been much like Vancouver so far. I
Braunschweig horseBraunschweig horseBraunschweig horse

A closer look at the horse out front of the mall.
have rarely seen the sun and it has been raining/snowing a lot. They say the snow is unnatural for this time of year, usually its just rain. The temperature is between 2-8 degrees Celsius.

A couple more interesting facts:
- they seem to drink 3.5% milk here! I told them about our 2%, 1% and skim milk at home and they were astonished that anyone could drink milk that is so close to water.
- Germany seems to have less *really old* buildings than the other places I've been to in Europe, and everyone keeps saying "there was a nice old building or castle there, but it got destroyed in the war". I think all the places I'm visiting were often targets for bombs...which is just interesting to imagine.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Hannover downtownHannover downtown
Hannover downtown

This is right after I got off the train in Hannover.
HannoverHannover
Hannover

View of Hannover from the institute I visited. Its the only tall building around there.
Church in HannoverChurch in Hannover
Church in Hannover

This is what a typical street looks like.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb