The Grimm Brothers


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Hanau
July 9th 2014
Published: July 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The weather has not cooperated since we have been in Hanau--rain, wind, and thunder. But today we ventured out to go to the Information office located in the town square of Hanau.

We learned that Hanau is the birthplace of the Grimm Brothers, the guys who wrote Grimm's Fairy Tales. Now that is exciting to me, I loved those old stories as a child. So even in the rain I had to have my picture taken at their statue.

I was trying to tell Jerry the story of Rumplestiltskin but couldn't quite remember how it went. So I downloaded Grimm's Fairy Tales to my Kindle. While waiting for the futbol game (Argentina and The Netherlands) I read a few of the old tales. The original versions are pretty grusome. Eating children, leaving children in the woods to die, children being turned into wild animals, stomping so hard your leg falls off--it is a wonder I didn't have nightmares! But what storytellers those two brothers were.

The weather is supposed to clear up soon but in the meantime I have some more fairy tales to read.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb