Ein Volles Englisch Bitte


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt am Main
April 14th 1992
Published: February 24th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Frankfurt Town SquareFrankfurt Town SquareFrankfurt Town Square

The more traditional German architecture.
Moving back west, my last destination before I headed back to England was the emerging European financial capital of Frankfurt. Not an obvious destination, but I headed there specifically because a friend from London had recently moved there and he had invited me to come and visit.

Frankfurt was basically what you would expect from a financial centre; office buildings and more office buildings. Mind you, these office buildings were one hell of a lot more attractive and spectacular than the ones in London. There were lots of glass-clad skyscrapers, which were actually in tune with the more historic buildings and multitude of green open spaces.

The underground network couldn’t be less like London’s, with clean, spacious stations and clean, efficient trains. The really surprising thing was that it seemed to be down to people’s honesty to buy tickets as there were no barriers or ticket collectors. I couldn’t see that policy working in London!

The impression that I had got of the Germans during the time that I had previously spent travelling was not a good one. They seemed to only associate with other Germans.

I can, of course, say that safe in the knowledge that
MesseTurmMesseTurmMesseTurm

At the time, the tallest building in Europe.
everyone loves we English when we're aboard and really appreciate our zero effort with the local languages, our Union Jack shorts and obsession with the Full English Breakfast. What's this Bratwurst thing you've tried to fob me off with in my Full English?

Germans in Germany were, however, extremely friendly and accommodating. When I made my usual pathetic attempt to speak in the native language, they just spoke straight back to me in English. It was very obvious to them how good my German wasn't.

A more accurate comparison might be to compare the reception a foreigner would get in London to the reception I got in Frankfurt. In that respect, the Germans would win hands down.

It was then back to Paris and on to Calais for the ferry back to England. It would be the last time that I would be able to go Inter-railing as I was just about to hit the age limit.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb