First day of school, part 2.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
March 12th 2008
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone, I finally have something to write about! It's definetely been too long. This past weekend Joe and I found a nice breakfast place, on the Alster Pavilion. It was a buffet, and the only place here besides the hotel in Bremen where I was able to find eggs, bacon, toast, etc. So nice! : ) Saturday night we went to see 10,000 BC at the Grindel Kino and it was really good, I suggest going to see it. I'm assuming it was out in the states first. Sunday morning was our brunch for international students at HAW which was... interesting. Although it was supposed to be for international students, Bryan and I were talking to two german girls.... so that was a bit confusing. I have come to the conclusion that Germans just do not know how to do an amazing breakfast (prove me wrong??) They do some other pretty amazing meals, but can't find breakfast. Our "brunch" was a whole bunch of salads, and ham. Weird. I would KILL for a Denny's breakfast right about now, but that's my only complaint about this country : ) Sunday night we again went to the Grindel and saw 10,000 BC again quite by accident. We had gone to see The Other Boleyn Girl, but we went into the wrong theater... and by the time we realized what we were seeing, it was a half hour into our movie. Sooo after that movie was done we went and bought tickets for the movie we intended to see in the first place, so we got two movies in that night. Not complaining- both movies are amazing. We will be at that movie theater every weekend this month, because it's closing : ( They are tearing it down to build more high risers... its so sad. We found a spot, and its going away. The other movie theater we go to doesn't have popcorn. Unheard of! But the German girls we were talking to at the Brunch argue that hey, it has beer, who needs popcorn? Silly German girls, The whole point of a movie experience is junk food and popcorn!

So school... the semester began on Monday, but my first class was yesterday. I was not thrilled with my International Competence & Comm. class. I think the boys liked it alot, ut we had to move all the desks out of the way and sit in a circle. I felt like I was back in Kindergarten. We had to play games... I hate games. I want to sit, and absorb. Thats what I like- lectures. I asked another girl if she thought it would always be that way, and she said probably not, it was only the intro day. That is good, very good. The teacher seemed nice. I was very worried, because she walked in speaking nothing but German and I did catch on to alot of what she was saying, but if she were to teach it in German... I don't know. So when we got in our little circle she asked us if everyone was ok with German and Mike, Bryan and I just stared at her, it was funny. We were like.. umm... wir koennen ein BISSCHEN Deutsch.... and she was like ok, English from now on. The classes we signed up for are all supposed to be taught in English anyways, but now I know how they feel when we butcher their language. The teacher can speak English, don't get me wrong, but she speaks slower, and asks us how to say certain words alot. Can't blame her, I'm glad they offer English classes for our sakes, but it must be tough for the teachers if they aren't comfortable with it. Another observation was how thorough the students are.. a little too thorough perhaps. It's like the teacher just explained this, and then 10 hands are raised asking the same question she just clarified. I thought I was going to die, but maybe its a culture thing, I dont know. It was really funny that everyone was surprised that I never experienced culture shock in coming here. A little homesickness, yes. But I guess it helped knowing enough of the language to be comfortable with getting around, asking for help, ordering, etc.

I still think it's odd that everyone I meet thinks I have a southern German accent. First the cab driver in Bremen, then random people I meet in my travels. It's so weird, when I speak German people ask me where i'm from, and when I say the US, they are actually shocked. They think I'm Bavarian or something.. it's weird. I blame it on having a lot of southern German professors, haha. I've just picked up an accent, I guess. Who knows. Sometimes I have a French accent, and thats kind of awkward. Apparently I say croissant with a french accent, and I know I do (damn 2 years of french) but I can't seem to change it! Oh well. I'll embrace my southern-ness, haha.

Well thats about all to report for now, Will have more classes on Thursday and Friday, and then Bekki is coming up from Salzburg for the weekend!!! Fun couple of weekends coming up. Bis Spaeter!

Love, J

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb