Einkaufserfolg!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
February 6th 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

For the english speakers out there, my title means shopping success. I definetely was successful tonight; but first, a recap of my day. Feeling anxious?

Woke up, went to class as usual. It was raining this morning, which was not cool, but as I've come to learn about Hamburg, the weather changes very often. An hour into class the sun was coming out, and I was very happy. I was having umbrella issues, which made matters a little worse. After class I walked down to Jungfernstieg instead of going home by way of Gaensemarkt. It is so beautiful and I just had to see the water. On a side note, I feel a bit angered about the way Americans are portrayed over here- don't get me wrong, everyone is soo nice, even if you are having trouble with your German! But there are two stores that concern me. First, in Colonnaden, there is a store called "American Boots" What do they sell? Cowboy boots. Only, cowboy boots. Hello.. I wonder if they know they are only representing about 1-3 states of the entire US. Another one, in Jungfernstieg, is called American Apparel. Obviously intrigued, I made a beeline for the store. I was scared and dissapointed at what I saw- tiny cut off shirts and pants, hot pants, and weird looking scarves. I feel like I stepped into the 80s. I just feel like damn, have these people ever stepped foot into the US? My guess, is no. No one wears that stuff, ever!!!

So I made my way home after this and despite my efforts to stay awake, I unfortunately gave in to sleep. For 4 hours. Guess I needed it, but I have soo much homework, studying, and catching up to do. Whoever said there were no tests for Colon lied, because I have a test on friday. and tuesday. I woke up around 630 and got online to check my email and stuff... Although it was late, Bryan talked me into going to Real in search of food, since I've been eating croissants, chocolate, and mcdonalds... GAR NICHT GUT!!!!! I got to Real a little past 7 to find out they close at 8... so now I'm running around the store trying to find anything I need. Tried to find lunchmeat, but although it looked the same as what im used to, they didnt use names for Ham and Turkey that I learned in German.. so I'm confused about that. But, hidden in the Nutella section was..... normal peanut butter!!!!!!!! I was so happy I wanted to do a happy dance. I also found bread and butter, so at least I can make toast and PB sandwiches now. I found Goldfish too! So I bought Goldfish pretzels for snacks. Hey, better than chocolate I guess. I also did find weight watchers meals and desserts! I didnt buy any because I didnt have enough hands at the time, but they look pretty interesting. Lastly I finally found cheap flip flops for the shower... soooo happy about this. Dorm showers are not to be used barefoot... gross.

Tomorrow is a busy day. First class, then after class I have to make my way to campus at HAW to use the printer for my insurance and einwohner forms. Hopefully the shop is where Stephen says it is. At 4, Stephen is picking us up and we're going to the Einwohnermeldeamt for our student visas, then we have a 5pm appointment with the insurance company. Who knows whats going on after that... maybe finishing up my grocery shopping? That would be nice. We'll see.. for now I must get back to my homework/ studying. Tschuess alle!

Love, J

Advertisement



9th February 2008

American Clothes
Don't be too annoyed about the cowboy boots being sold as typical American. At least you know now what Germans feel like if Americans expect them to wear "typical German clothes" like Lederhosen (which are only common in Bavaria). ;-) By the way: It should be "Einkaufserfolg", not "Einkaufen erfolg".

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb