Berlin Continued!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin
November 20th 2010
Published: December 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

It's hard to believe, but I've now been in Berlin for almost four months! I am happy to say that I have managed to set myself up without too much difficulty in the past months. And, I feel that my current transition has only been possible with all of the incredible friends I have met since I have been here along with the support of my brother, who is only living a few hours away, in Leipzig.

I have to say, since arriving in Berlin, I have managed to sight-see many weekends, and especially when hosting family or friends in town. I have been lucky enough to see my brother a few times through audition trips and general travel trips, allowing us both to explore some of the amazing tourist sights of the city. With my brother, we've been to the east side gallery, where we biked along the artwork that runs for miles along the canal commemorating Berlin's history. We also took the time to walk through all the central points; Brandenberg Gate, Checkpoint charlie, markings of the old wall, and the jewish museum. No tot mention, our induction to the local night life, my surrounding neighbourhood, and little restaurants popping up everywhere in the city.

Of course, our Berlin experience was only magnified when my mother came to visit us for the Christmas holiday. We managed to visit most of the noted Christmas markets in town (there are dozens, and dozens!) and, of course, mom managed to find her way to through Berlin on the days she had no guides (as we were in school/university) and she managed to take her impressive camera gear for some fabulous shots...

Meanwhile, I continue to try to balance the delights and challenges of teaching with the thrills of the city and the comfort of family and good friends mixed in with incredible local sights and cultural introductions.

All in all, it's been an incredible few months and I keep reveling over the experiences, sights, and opportunities that I have seen over the past few months. Berlin is a jewel.

More to come, as always,

Trish xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

And more Berlin... And more Berlin...
And more Berlin...

a funny, lovely city!
East side gallery... East side gallery...
East side gallery...

or the old Berlin wall...


Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb