Stadelschwarzach...a.k.a. Schwarzi!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Stadelschwarzach
July 29th 2007
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

"Schwarzi" (short version) is the town Gerhard is from...which is 20 mins from Wurzburg...AND, as it turns out...I learned while here (from UT) that my dad served in Wurzburg/outside of it (?) in the army back in the late 50s? How crazy is that? For me it was really amazing and an incredible feeling, thinking that my dad was here, perhaps walking the same streets as I was...over 40-45 years ago...wow...

I am SO glad I came here...even though Gerhard wasn't here! I had SUCH a great time with his family...Petra, Hermine (sisters), Roland (brother), their families...and of course his mom and dad (Renate & Gotthard). I will get some pictures posted, but it won't be tonight. 😞 And there are some good ones!

Yesterday, as I think I previously mentioned, we spent the day in Wurzburg, which to me is a "mini Prague." OR, perhaps other/many other European cities are set up similarly, i.e., at the river, a main bridge...with a castle/fortress on the other side. Makes sense. Much like Prague, Wurzburg is a bit romantic, too...I was surprised how much I liked it and what a great feel it had.

Petra, Hermine, Hanna, Carolina and I all went into Wurzburg, and we had lunch in a restaurant overlooking the Maine River. I had bratwurst (when in Germany...you know the rest...!), and it was yummy. However, I was so full after eating it all...my stomach felt like a sausage! We walked a lot, saw some other sites, i.e., Dom St. Kilian (same name as my home church)...and I thought, "What a coincidence...of all names the church could have had...and it's St. Kilian's!

Last night there was a bit of a mix up re: Martin picking me up...vs. someone dropping me off. Once figured out, Martin picked me up and brought me to his girlfriend's house (Monica, a.k.a. Moni) for a party/bbq. I'm not sure how to describe Martin...he's a motorcycle guy...and the plan was to pick me up on the bike, but unfortunately the weather here has been mostly rain...so it didn't happen (the one time I'm NOT liking the rain...ruining a possible ride??? Dang!!!!) Martin is part of a motorcycle club in Rottershausen (or nearby)...and he, Moni, and a bunch of other bikers were at the bbq. Fun was had by all..more food, drink (German beer - the "real deal," yum!) sausage, meat...! If I stay in Germany much longer, I will be HUGE!

I stayed overnight at Moni's house...she, Martin and the rest all slept outside in the backyard with the kids in tents...and I slept in the house in one of the kid's beds! We had breakfast, and I needed to be back at Gerhard's mom's house by noon for lunch (I learned after breakfast)!

Mamma Gerhard, a.k.a., Renate, made "Sour Brat," which is meat boiled in water/vinegar...and though it may not sound appetizing, it was delicious! As was the pasta she made by hand, which had a special (and I'm sure German) sauce...for both the pasta/noodles & the meat. We also had salad...YUM!

After lunch I went with Carolina and Hannah to see their 3 horses...one of them new to the family! I love horses...and they were so dang cute! I went a little overboard with pictures...! They are in a stable/barn a few kms away in the next town, so we rode bikes there (in/out of the rain - it rained on/off all day). Carolina also showed me around the family's properties...where they raised pigs for many years, how it all worked, etc. We had a good time, both Carolina and Hannah love horses, and ride them, so it was fun to watch them with the horses!

Lastly, tonight there was a family bbq at Hermine's house...with her husband Thomas, kids Hannah and Daniel...Petra, husband Matthias, kids Christina and Tobias (and his girlfriend Sara)...and Roland, wife Christine, and their daughter, Carolina. Gerhard's parents were also there...and we ate, laughed, drank...ate more...laughed more...FUN!

Tomorrow I'm off to Brussels to see my hip brother Al and his wife Paula for an evening. On Tuesday, I fly/take the Eurostar to London...staying overnight. And on Wednesday, I fly direct from London to LA...!

I hope you're all doing great...I'm going to miss doing this...! TILL MANANA,

Advertisement



30th July 2007

Schwarzi Baby
Hi there. Glad you liked it and had fun with my family. regarding St. Killians: He, his buddies Kolonan and Totnan are actually burried in the Wuerzburg Dome. There also is a big festival in Wuerzburg in the summer in their honor (you know, any reaosn for a party). Have fun in Belgium, and bring home some chocolates would you.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb