haus, schoen haus


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Coburg
March 5th 2005
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I finally made it to school, the whole real reason for this voyage of mine. Nice to know I apply myself from time to time, isn’t it? There was a bit of uncertainty about my move in date, but it ended up being the first of March after all. See, Germans can say one thing and mean another when it comes to legal matters, and no one really checks them, because it’s small and unimportant in the long run. So when all the early correspondence I got from the school gave me the impression that my dorm room would be mine on the first of March, I purchased plane tickets (way back in early November). I was a little frazzled when I found out, about a month before departure, that I might be homeless for a week after returning to Coburg from the sightseeing trip.
But it all worked out, I moved in, I have a room with a view, even. The so-called Franconian Crown, the Veste Coburg, is on the hill out my window. The dorms are at the top of this ungodly large hill, and I will go ahead and hypothesize that I will resemble an Olympic sprinter in
And the fridgeAnd the fridgeAnd the fridge

...are you as excited as I am yet?
build by the end of six months. The place is all mine, no roommates, I get my own bathroom and shower, I have a kitchenette, and I even got a rolling desk chair and some pots and pans! But something was wrong…a stark home is not what an architecture major likes to inhabit, I had to do something… so I took a field trip, with Kate and Raul as my accomplices in adventure, to Fürth, the nearest Ikea store. Oh, you shoulda seen me… I was hyper about a glorified furniture store, and not a bit shameful about it, cuz y’know what? It’s *fun.* It’s mainstream and materialistic and filled to the brim with marketing ploys, and it’s still neat. I took pictures! Go look!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Trip to IkeaTrip to Ikea
Trip to Ikea

on the train with Kate (photo credits to Raul)
Raul at IkeaRaul at Ikea
Raul at Ikea

Kate and Raul both thought I was crazy for getting so excited about an Ikea store. Being from Chicago and Mexico D.F., I don't think they understood the importance it held for a native Kansan...
Working itWorking it
Working it

In one of the vignette example rooms, they had a catwalk, ...so we just had to...
Sashay, shauntay!Sashay, shauntay!
Sashay, shauntay!

...and raul did it too.


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb