Always look on the bright side of life...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Schwäbisch Hall
January 20th 2010
Published: January 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Where to begin...It's crazy to think about the fact that I have been in Europe for almost a month. It's INSANE! I feel like I haven't done nearly enough. Classes have been very useful. I feel my foundation of German growing. I wish I could understand people better. Sometimes the southern dialect is a bit difficult to understand. One of the most frustrating parts of learning German is vocabulary. Oh how I wish I had a larger german vocabulary. I've been speaking a lot of Denglish (Deutsch and English).
Recently, the Goethe Institut had a movie night. The movie is called, "Das Leben des Brian" (The Life of Brian). If the english name sounds famliar to you it is because it is a Monty Python movie. It was originally made in English and was horribly dubbed over in German. Thus, I watched it. Luckily, they keep the original songs, like "Always look on the bright side of life..."
The day after the wonderful film experience I went to Johanniterhalle. It is one of the museums in Schwaebisch Hall. This paticular museum used to be a church. It has beautiful paintings and statues (most of which relate to christianity). Taking pictures in this paticular museum is frowned upon so as soon as I can get links to work I will find websites with my favorite paintings and link it.
It was pretty sweet to get my first museum tour all in German.
Friday night, as almost always, there was another Goethe Party. Once again it was a lot of fun. After leaving the Goethe Party we went to the Disko (Barfuss) and danced the night away. Sadly, when I got back I began having an allergic reaction to sausage I ate earlier that day. It was not a pleasent night. I had to skip the Saturday Day trip the next day. Sunday I enjoyed a delightful brunch with Laura and my new Italian friend Paola. The rest of Sunday was pretty sedentary.
Yesterday, was the tour to Loewenbrauerei (a local brewery). It was cool to see how beer is made. At the end of the tour they had food and all you can drink beer and non-alcoholic beverages. It was also Laura's B-day so earlier in the day we had Chinese food and I gave her a John Grisham book that has been translated in to German (teehee)). It's a gift and a curse. 😊 After the brewery, Laura, a couple of american friends we've met here, and I went to Ollie's (a pub) to finish out the B-day celebration. All in all, a successful birthday for Laura.
Today, we went to Comburg Kloster. It is a very old monestary but BEAUTIFUL. Most of the pictures come from there. I can't wait to see and do more. Talk to you all soon! I miss you and love you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb