Daily Life


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Schwäbisch Hall
January 12th 2010
Published: January 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The first day of class was somewhat scary. We were sorted into classes (kinda like Harry Potter). Jochen Gaile, my teacher, is amazing! I think he's a cartoonist (or at least he should be). At the first break of the day I have created a routine of going to the bakery. YUM! Classes seem to pass fairly quickly. There is homework every night but nothing unmanageable. The first student Laura and I ran into happened to be an Australian. It is still summer break for the australians so there are 6 or 7 here. It's been amazing meeting people from everywhere (Italy, Brazil, Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, Poland, Thailand, Japan, Iceland, and even the US). There are so many languages being spoken although at times it is hard not to speak English because pretty much everyone knows it and it is easier to communicate using it. But we all just have to remind ourselves why we are here.

Stammtisch has been a fun experience. I have now been to 2 of them. Basically, the idea is to sit at a table(tisch) at the bar, drink beer, and discuss various topics in German. I have learned that if you ask for "ein Halb" you get what you need. A half liter glass of their house brew. I've also learned that "ein(one) halb" is all you really need.
I also enjoy Goethe Parties even though they sometimes get a little silly. Oh fussball and lgreen lemon beer. Let me also point out that grinding doesn't really exist in European dancing (not that I mind) it was just interesting to notice.
So far so good in Schwaebisch Hall.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb