€€1.70 gets me ice cream and Italian lessons


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Mannheim
July 27th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've got probably 10 blogs that I need to catch up on but I just had to tell you all about our ice cream man. He comes around every day between 7:30 and 8:00 in the evening in his little truck playing typical ice cream truck music. He's from Italy...Sicily to be exact. He speaks a little bit of English but speaks fluent German and Italian so our conversations are a mix of all three these days. I'm sure you've heard me talk very highly about Italian ice cream...gelato. Well, what he sells in the truck is pretty close 😊 Once I found that out I became a pretty regular customer and I'm now greeted with a 'Ciao Bella!' when I come out. It's €1.70 for two scoops in a cone and the past few times now he's started teaching me a little bit of Italian too. I learned today that his name is Guiseppe (a very good Italian name) and how to say "How are you?" in Italian (it's 'Come stai' if you're curious). He's always so friendly he just makes my day! It's a very good value for €1.70.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0991s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb