Random Posts


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Montivilliers
March 23rd 2015
Published: March 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I don't usually post anything if I don't have a at least a good chunk on one subject, but the last few weeks, I've either been super busy or, when I sat down to write, I had nothing. Maybe my muse has been on vacation 😉

So, this is going to be the little bits, crumbs and snip-its of idea's I've had over that last couple weeks:

- I started a journal beacause I realized that I wasn't writing enough. It's half in french, half english because I'm too embarrassed to write in french here, incase I make a mistake or sound too simple. My oral french is getting a lot better, although I'm acquiring a Normandy accent. For example, we are taught to say Boîte for Box in french, but they say it like Buette here.

- La Bise : a cheek kiss between friends, or strangers, who wish to be strangers no more. Can be done without any other exchange of words, replaces hello and goodbye. An action preformed, without a doubt, at every single encounter.

I'm basing my "friend count" on the quantity of friendly kisses I get in the morning and It's definitely improving!

-Found a pink piglet at the sunday market, and tried to convince my host dad to buy it. The mission was unsuccessful.

-The french green party got less than 1% of the votes in the recent election. -Vivre La France-

-Correcting my english teacher is terrifying.

-Today in Paris, only cars with a pair number on their licence plate can drive (half the cars, to reduce pollution)... the rest are supposed to take the train or subway to work, or carpool. The sum for breaking this new law: 20 €

- Hot Dogs come in baguettes, with fries in between the bread...

- Toilet paper is totally acceptable as a gift, and can replace flowers without a doubt. There are specialty stores that cary patterned toilet paper, like dollar bill print, or leopard.

-Most people assume I don't speak french, and are really happy/embarrassed when I smile and, respond in french.

I don't understand how fast the time is going: sometimes the days feel decently long, and then I look back and realize a week has gone by.

In 2 weeks, I'll be flying over Paris in a private helicopter, eating at a 4 star restaurant, flying back, staying in a 4 star hotel in the heart of Paris, and then shopping my little butt off ( A trip my Host mom won for 8 people). Only a few weeks after that, I head off to Liverpool for an exchange within an exchange...and when I get back from England, I'll be leaving the next day.

Advertisement



28th March 2015

Hi Madi :)
You're so cool ^^ But you forgot an other word which can be tell with different accents: Poulet and Poulêt/the same for Boulet Boulêt xD I Love your blog ^^ In french now: (I'm still a little lost with english voc) Lol N'aies pas peur de corriger les profs XD C'est même mieux! Et si t'as besoin d'aide pour améliorer ton écrit en français...Demandes! On est là pour ça ^^ En tout cas c'est un super blog et c'est un vrai plaisir de lire ce que tu pense de la Normandie ^^ So See you Monday ^^ Bye and have a beautifull Weekend ^^ @TheGuythattakesthesamebusasyouandAlison

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb