School.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Le Havre
February 11th 2015
Published: February 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I woke up a little early today, and realised that with the time difference, there isn't really a decent time where I'm awake and out of school, and everyone back home is awake or, out of school.

Skype hasn't been working because of a mic issue... If anyone knows any tricks for Skype on macs, please let me know.

School was only 1h today, because of the organization of Alison's classes and exams this week.

We had history; It's interesting the way students act around their teachers here.

As you enter the class, you just sit, and write down what the teacher says. That's it, No questions, no discussions, no explanations. I've always heard people say that France's school system is so advanced, that the material is much harder and that the students are learning more but, from what I saw today, It seems to be a bit ancient. If there is no discussion and material is just tough like a recorded message, then there would be no communal learning. You wouldn't know the opinions of others, there would be no way to disagree with a material, or to add your own opinion. What kind of society works like that?

But! I guess, it is my first day, and maybe my opinion will change.

Wednesdays and Saturdays are half days. But, I think Alison and I will be doing school work for the rest of the day anyway.

-Madi

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb