Bikes and mountains


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After completing the endurance ride up Mont Ventoux back in 2004, the time feels right to have another shot at a second conquest. It took well over 2 and half hours last time however this time, with some new technology, a new bike, I hope to gain the summit (6000 ft more or less) in slightly less. Though the primary objective is simply to get to the top of the 23 km haul without stopping. My new bike (can you guess which one?) should be quite a bit lighter than the one i used in 2004 so I hope this will make a difference. At this stage I have been training by riding 15kms almost daily (when in Avignon) for over two months. I plan to make the ascent on September 2nd early in the morning so I have another month o so of training to go which should see me in top condition. Even today after 2 months I am feeling pretty fit .. so as they say en francais "on verra" .. we will see!

(of course by now you realise that in fact none of the pictures attached are the 'new' bike .. its a state of the art carbon Cannondale .. the ferrari of performance bikes .. the bikes pictured below are old 'character' bikes that I saw in different places on my recent trip through Italy .. real old classics)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb