canals, beer and chocolate


Advertisement
Published: April 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

stomach achestomach achestomach ache

willy wonker eat your heart out
Bruges is famous for its canals, beer and chocolate - and we've just spent the weekend finding out why. It's a beautiful little place where Alison, Lib and I spent a morning being toured around by boat with a guide pointing out well-preserved buildings from the 12th century in 4 different languages (I wish I'd paid more attention in Mrs MacGregor's French class); then hit some of its famous breweries (they make around 400 types of beer here, so even I found something I liked in the cherry and raspberry flavoured beer!); and, of course, gorged ourselves on the most delicious chocolates in the world. We also tried the homebrewed Geneva (like gin, but 38% alcohol) which again appealed to me because it also came in chocolate and vanilla (Bruges is my kind of town) and sampled Flemish stew (beer soaked beef, suprisingly nice).
Hope everyone's well and thanks heaps for your emails and phone calls - it's lovely to hear how you are.
Ver & Lib



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb