Oui Oui Oui


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
May 30th 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Definately not SaskatchewanDefinately not SaskatchewanDefinately not Saskatchewan

The best views yet!
The French Riviera is gorgeous! So many huge hills with jam packed homes. We went up some windy roads and had some awesome views! The best so far. It definately is the most scenic part of the trip. When Simon and Mecha has told us it would be I had wondered what would be so special and now I know. It's also right along the ocean, which was amazing to see! Its hard to get a really good picture out of the coach window while we are driving. I wish I could show everyone at home how it looks!

The day started off with rain, which some people were none too happy about. It's seemed to rain a bit on our trip so far. Breakfast was at 7:15. French toast (yum!) and the usual yogurt and cereal.

I wasn't sure what to wear today because Mecha wrote on the day sheet (a piece of paper letting us know when and where we are going) to "dress to impress". This appears to be a ritzier, more stylish area. I feel unstylish in Saskatchewan never mind Europe! haha

Our first stop today was the french perfumery. This was our first
NiceNiceNice

Beautiful fountains here.
adventure driving up the hills. I really was trying my hardest to take pictures from the coach but for the most part the best views were on the other side. Oh well. The perfumery was called Fragonads. A lady gave us a little tour around the factory. First we learned what plants they get from each country and how they put them into a huge pot to steam them and get out the essential oils. Now I know why some perfume is so expensive! We meant how men called The Nose (in French of course) smell different scents to put them together and create different perfumes. They only work 3 hours a day and have to go to school for it! We seen how they cut soap into shapes and how some are painted. She also showed us that they make face cream. Then we got to sample some of the perfumes so we could see what we wanted to buy. The prices were 1/3 of the cost that you'd pay in a store because its factory priced. You don't have to pay for the lable or the name on it like you do in the store. I don't usually
Shopping!Shopping!Shopping!

Walking around Nice.
like perfume but I liked 2 of the scents so I bouht some, plus some facial cream that makes your skin so so soft. If you went in with 5 other people you could get a discount too, plus we got free travel perfume holders. I spent 92 euro! A lot of money for such a tiny bag. A good purchase though, and some may be gifts.

Afterwards, Simon drove us into Nice where we got to spend the afternoon. We basically shopped. I bought a new bag because the ones I have are either too big or too small. I also bought a postcard, a bracelet, and earings.

I am soooooo tired right now. I'll try to get through this.

It wasn't raining in the city and it wasn't too hot either. We went to an H & M store and Karen bought clothes.

Ok I will write more tomorrow. Can't keep my eyes open!! Night.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0974s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb