The Beautiful Calanques


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Marseille
October 19th 2007
Published: October 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Calanque En VauThe Calanque En VauThe Calanque En Vau

Over an hour by foot to get there, but absolutely worth it!
Les Calanques de Marseille - Cassis


This has been the best part of my trip so far!

Superb rock, fantastic scenic routes, amazing views...

I swapped numbers with an Irish guy, Derek, in Chamonix and we met in Cassis. We bivvyed in En Vau for a few days, on a ledge two-thirds up a cliff, paying "bread rent" to a mouse. Check the view up from our house and you'll understand why it was worth it.

We did quite a few multi-pitch routes. Absolutely beautiful! I started leading a 40m high, small crimpy holds 5c+ thinking it was a 5a and was very pleased to get to the top. I also experienced my first two leading falls, on a 5c and a 6a routes. Scary but funny at the same time. Hurt my foot but was back to action in two days. Derek was a very competent belayer, even when smoking and playing phone games at the same time. We had a great time, sleeping rough outdoors or Chinese dining in Marseille. Plus more amazing scenec routes, some quite exposed over the sea. We weren't lucky enough to attract some hot chicks though, hehe. Now I'm complaining! Thanks, Derek!

After Cassis I spent a couple of days in Nimes and left France for Barcelona. I feel a bit out-of-place in a hostel in the city, so will soon return to open landscapes and small villages on the coast. Not yet sure where...


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Fantastic Scenic RoutesFantastic Scenic Routes
Fantastic Scenic Routes

Derek leads another pitch in En Vau
Our HouseOur House
Our House

About 20 metres up the cliff on a ledge near the beach in En Vau.
Morning in the HouseMorning in the House
Morning in the House

My best ever Irish climbing partner dreams of perfect routes and traverses, plus some hot chicks of course!
What a View!What a View!
What a View!

How can I not miss this place?


4th November 2007

Amazing views!
Hey, the views do look amazing, but it does look a bit cold for my liking I'm afraid. When you getting to Spain!
30th November 2007

Beautifull bed
I am going to report you to the police ! I am happy to see that you appreciated your stay in France, nice picture, a progess ! 5c+ omagad, I said that you were going to be a very good rock-climber if you work your abds ! See ya José

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 20; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb