My Own Room (Day 41)


Advertisement
Published: June 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

palais des papaspalais des papaspalais des papas

palais des papas
Had another interesting breakfast with Dominique as we again struggled to communicate ha. It was also complicated by the fact that Gonzalo brought a little Spanish into the conversation so we had to add another translating dictionary to the table for a grand total of 3. Said goodbye to the two of them and made my way over to the train station. I stopped at a kebab place on the way for a doner kebab. It appears I have entered the stage of my trip where kebabs and other cheap sandwich shops from these ever popular sandwicherias has begun. I think I have had 5 kebabs in 5 days as well as a few other paninis and sandwiches. Its just so easy and cheap and good for you as well. Wait, maybe not that part. I also stopped at an internet cafe on the way and realized that there were almost no rooms available in Avignon and definitely none in hostels but I figured I could just find a cheap hotel hopefully. The train ride up there took no more than 40 minutes and soon I was wandering around town looking for a place with a vacancy and cheap rates, not too easy. I ended up finding this little inn right off the main street. The room was pretty basic but I didn't care. The price was right and for the first time in 5 weeks I had my own room. It's amazing how different it felt. I was free to just throw my junk where ever I pleased and just lounge around at my leisure. Did a little walk around town but figured I would leave the good stuff till tomorrow. The city of Avignon has the title of City of the Popes as it became the residence for many popes in the 12th/13th century when there were some bureucratic issues in the papacy back then. Did my normal routine of stopping by an Irish pub to watch the world cup match before heading back to my OWN room for an early night. Oh and good news; someone ended up responding to the CS message I put up earlier in the day for Avignon so I will be meeting my host tomorrow around noon. Not the most exciting day but a relaxing one.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.102s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb