Avignon, The City of Popes


Advertisement
Published: September 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Avignon, The City of Popes

Here's Avignon in comparison to the rest of France. We traveled from the Beaujolais Wine Region to Avignon for a pit stop.

Avignon - Gold StatueAvignon - Gold StatueAvignon - Gold Statue

Wow, just look at it!!
Day 8 (5): On our way to the French Rivera, we made a pit stop in Avignon.
I slept on the way there and I didn't even realize that we were going to make a stop at somewhere THAT big!! I thought it was just going to be a rest area. 😊 I bought the oil of avocado soap and Dan got another kind. It was a nice little city... lots of groups singing, promoting their show. Dan and I got lured into a cafe because we needed a bathroom (wow, how sad). We had the most expensive ham and cheese omelette ever...! but it was worth it. Also, a medium sized drink cost us 5 euros EACH. Hm... oh well.

And unfortunately we were late by one minute (did I mention that my group was super on time everywhere? They were also early to everything!!). There were two other boys in the group who were 15 minutes late though (we nearly left without them, but thank goodness they caught up before Ben, our awesome driver, drove away.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

PaintingPainting
Painting

Don't pay attention to me. Look at the artwork.
SoapsSoaps
Soaps

Wow, they smelled so good!! In fact, it's what kept my luggage smelling clean. :)
CafeCafe
Cafe

Dan and the omelette... and the 5 euro coke. :)
Instrument MenInstrument Men
Instrument Men

Wow, they played music for the guests in the cafe! Though I believe they made sure everyone outside the cafe listening paid them.
Singing LadiesSinging Ladies
Singing Ladies

Ladies promoting their show
ProofProof
Proof

Here's proof that I was in the cafe with the singing ladies behind me. Also, one of the ladies went around to give out their postcard, which I have.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb