Aix-en-Provence


Advertisement
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

When I first walked down the main boulevard of Aix-en-Provence I thought to myself 'Ah, so HERE's France'. Sadly, apart from that one street, Aix wasn't as pretty or quintissentially french as I'd been led to believe. Also, because tourist season was over, a lot of the things worth visiting were closed.

I did get to see the artist Cezanne's studio though! I'm not totally mad about his art but it was quite amazing to look down at a table and statue which are depicted in so many of his still lifes. What really struck me though was the paint smeared jacket and worn hat on a hook in the corner of the room. They looked like they'd only just been taken off. I got a real sense of this being a space which was thoroughly used and lived in. It was fantastic. You cam do all sorts of walking tours and such in the area to follow Cezanne's trail as well.

The rest of the town is nice for a quick walk around but outside of tourist season I don't think it's really worth going to. Glad I only made it a day trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



30th November 2009

Off peak visiting
That's the worst thing about going to places out of season. No crowds - GREAT- but few attractions open either! At least you got to see the studio.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb