A first glimpse


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire » Nantes
September 15th 2008
Published: September 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I'm in the city of my future lodging.

It's a town that actually kinda reminds Courtney and I of Iowa City. It has a big university and is metropolitan, but keeps is classical French class. There are tons of stores and cafes and bars, a great transportation system, bunch of beautiful parks, so I don't think I'll ever get really bored here. It's been a little stressful trying to get all my essential things done and so many places I needed to go to today were closed because its monday....annoying! Getting a bank account isn't here because you need proof of an address but then to get an apartment you have to have a bank account! I'm hoping my bank in the U.S. can help me get set up with a sister bank here.....Courtney and I have explored much of the city and I'm pretty comfortable getting around. We just got back from having dinner with one of the English teachers at my school, her family, and two of the other English teachers at the school. They seem relaxed and fun and I'm really glad I got to meet them outside of the school setting. It was really funny because Courtney DETESTS all seafood and eggs and sure enough some of the food the family served was hard boiled quail eggs, fish wrapped avocado, salmon spread, and quiche, I laughed to myself because I could only imagine what was going on in her head "oh god, we're gonna have to eat somewhere else after I pretend to eat this crap." but luckily she served a bunch of vegetables and dip, cheese and bread, croissant wrapped hot dogs, fruit, and macaroons, so we were safe. IT actually was kinda nice for me to eat something other than a croissing sandwich and straight bread and cheese. All the "traditional restaurants" here seem so identical: cafe and a croissant for breakfast, salad or a croque monsieur for lunch, and some sort of pork or beef with fried potatoes for dinner and a choice of chocolate mousse or creme brulee for dessert. Tomorrow we're hoping to accomplish what we meant to accomplish today, as well as maybe go out to a piano bar of something downtown. Wednesday will probably include more apartment hunting, Thursday we're having lunch at the school and getting a tour, and Friday we leave for Italy! woo hoo! I'm gonna post pictures soon, I'm trying to get the annoying junk outta the way so I can really take in my new home for seven months! I'm missing everyone very much, I'm a little afraid of possible loneliness (as you all know I love a crowd around me!), but luckily I'm having a picnic with other american english teachers on the 29th.

Au revoir!
-Cara

Advertisement



15th September 2008

The first weekend in Iowa City without you was depressing. Just not quite the same without Cara Clonch. I'm so glad to hear that you are liking your new home! I will email soon! XO Elise
16th September 2008

I'm so jealous. France and Italy and croissants and all... =)
27th March 2009

English speaking schools in Nantes
I would love to know if there are any schools in Nantes where American children could attend and understand the lessons. I know some countries have international schools but I am not finding much info on this for the area around Nantes. I'm interested in this for children ages 5 - 17.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb