Tour de France Team Time Trial - Monday July 9, 2018


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire » Cholet
July 9th 2018
Published: July 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast is being served sleepy head. Kirsten wakes me up from a deep sleep, I stumble out of the bed with my hair going in all directions.

I pull myself together and come out to the patio where Kirsten, Bea and Omi are having breakfast and are busy talking back and forth, planning their shopping list for the grocery store. I haven’t even finished my first cup of coffee and they are in the car and gone.

It’s quiet here, I love it. I sip on my coffee and enjoy the peace and quiet. Well, that all ended after an hour or so. Kirsten requested that I not add it to the blog, but it involves, the rental car, concrete and a tow truck. Everyone is ok, the rental car is ok. All is good, however the old French men sitting at the café will be discussing those good-looking American women over their wine for years to come.

Kirsten, Bea and Omi return home with no groceries, I climb into the car and off we go to Cholet.

We’re going to watch the 3rd stage of the Tour de France - “Team Time Trial”. I know everyone is wondering ...the what? Every year starting back in biblical times, the French came up with this idea to have a race using this invention called the bicycle. Most, but not all Americans, have no idea what this race is all about. However, a few including myself, have followed this for a very long time. Kirsten took me to my first Tour, the summer after my surgery. It was OWESOME! I took Lori to Paris a couple years later to see the ending. She and Sam have now become world travelers.

Omi, Bea, Kirsten and I watch the race as the bicycle teams came whizzing by, it was so exciting. As always though, it’s better on TV. I just wanted to stand with crowds as the teams raced by, dreaming of being part of the final sprint across the finish line. Chills just come over me.

Thank you, Kirsten, Omi and Bea for getting to watch the Tour.

We head home discussing what we are going to have for dinner, me I’m thinking which bottle of wine I’m opening first.

We have another delicious dinner and a little wine. LOL!

We play cards and I explain how the Tour De France works. Multiple winners each day, over a 20ish day period. Way too much to type. If you’re really interested google it, or if you are like Bea, just roll your eyes and know it will pass.

Off to bed we go, everyone has had an active day.

Good night


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.337s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb