Parlez- vous anglais?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
May 4th 2010
Published: May 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have titled this blog as the phrase I have used most while in Paris. Unfortunately, my almost 7 years of French class has been almost completely forgotten. I haev been able to have a few basic conversations en francais, but for the most part I will say hello and then ask if they speak english, which by the way, most of them do. And if you make a small effort to speak some french, they are even more willing to help you.

So, my overall impressions of Paris: 1. Most people here DO speak English, they just don't like to advertise it. 2. The city is very dirty. I didn't expect all the urine smells, trash on the street and cigarette butts everywhere you go. 3. Paris IS for lovers. I have seen so many couples displaying PDA. Too bad I did not fall in love in Paris 😞

One of my best experiences was seeing the Eiffel Tower at night. Sunday night Nate & I got all the necessary ingredients for a picnic (wine, cheese, bread, and some type of giant sausage for Nate). Unfortunately we did not have a knife and after Nate received a horrified look from a waitress that he tried to buy a knife from, we gave up and decided to eat like savages. It was delicious! At 9pm the lights came on. I did not know that the Eiffel Tower sparkles. And if you do not know what I mean, you need to come to Paris, pack a picnic and see for yourself what I am talking about.

Yesterday I was quite tired so I spent the day doing laundry at a public laundromat which was quite an experience and then I decided to go see Jim Morrison's grave. The graveyard he is in is pretty creepy and I got some great pictures!

I am hoping to see Versailles today and then tonight I am going back to the Eiffel Tower. This time I am going up the Eiffel Tower, possibly the stairs. I met a nice guy from Michigan that is traveling alone so I offered to go with him and have a picnic. I am willing to make this sacrifice so that he can have the same great experience I did a few nights ago. It doesn't hurt that he's pretty cute too 😊

Au revoir Paris! Next stop, ROME!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb