Eiffel Tower Moment


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
April 12th 2010
Published: April 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

WARNING: If you are currently in a sour, cynical mood do not read this blog entry. It is filled with corny, cliche moments and the ramblings of a very happy female.

I have been travelling for over two months now and was expecting the novelty to wear off. Don't get me wrong I have been greatly enjoying myself, but after a while you stopping having those Holy sh*t moments and instead travelling and seeing new sights become the norm. You get used to meeting people and saying good bye to them within a 48 hour time range. You get used to learning a metro/tram/bus system and then having to relearn another system two days later.

But I still managed to have a emotional, epic, holy sh*t moment despite all this. And its a bit embarassing to admit but I had this moment en route to the Eiffel Tower. Corny, I know!

This story does not start on April 10th. This story starts back in grade 9, about nine years ago (omg I can't believe how long ago that was) in English class when we had free writing time. I one day wrote about where I saw myself in five years. In a nutshell, I had written that I would be studying psychology at some university and that summer I would be backpacking and galavanting around Europe. I enjoyed this piece so much and a part of me wanted to know if this was all going to come true, so I re-wrote in my own personal journal at home. And thats how I still remember it.

So my prediction was a bit off. First of all I studied politics, not psychology. Second of all I didn't go galavanting around Europe after second year. I waited until after university to go bacpack around. That all being said I did live up to this prediction in some senses. I finally did go travel and I have become I wanted to be. When I was in grade 9 I was looking ahead for when I could be free not just to see the world but also to be free to live my life on my terms. I am doing that. I realized how much I am really truly doing that.

So let's fast forward a little bit to pre-trip time. This trip was about learning to be on my own and seeing more of the world. I felt like I have always been talking about traveling and always wanting to travel. This trip was proof to myself that I was finally able to travel and that I could do it on my own. This trip has been a roller coaster of an adventure but it didn't really hit me that I had accomplished what I had set out to do until I was strolling my way to the Eiffel Tower.

So on April 10th I was checking out the sites of Paris and that of course included the infamous Eiffel Tower. I was walking along the River Siene and the tower kept getting closer and closer and then it hit me. I felt this overwhelming rush of joy. I was going to the friggin Eiffel Tower!!!! The tower is a symbol of France. It is such a recognizable structure and I am getting to see it in person. How cool is that!?! I was seeing it on my own and I wouldn't have it any other way. This moment was important to me and I only wanted to share it with me, no one else. It hit me that I had travelled so far and seen so much and I get to add the Eiffel Tower to that.

The Eiffel Tower is almost like my grand finale to this trip. While I am still in France right now, I will be in England by the end of the week, which is my last port of call. In England, I won't be exploring new lands on my own. I am going to be visiting family. I am really looking forward to seeing my family (see you on Thursday Helen and Simon) I am also aware that this is a different type of travelling and the type of solo travelling that I have been doing is ending real soon. So the Eiffel Tower was a perfect way to end my trip.

It was also that perfect moment to think about how proud I am for doing this on my own and doing what I set out to do. It was a great moment to realize how happy I am with life. I have seen 24 countries in my life. I have seen a fair bit in a small amount of time. My life at home is pretty damn sweet too. I am going home to family and friends who love me and many (you all know who you are) who have sent me updates, support and love through out my trip. I am going back to school in September to start on my future in a program that gets me so excited everytime I think about it. At this moment in my life I have become who I wanted to be: a independent, well travelled, confident and most of all happy woman.

p.s. I told you all it was corny

Advertisement



12th April 2010

LOVE IT!!!
12th April 2010

I think this trip was so wonderful for you on many different levels, and I'm glad you're enjoying it as much as you are. Counting the days! Mom
12th April 2010

Wow..make a girl choke up
So proud of you Bria!! Love the Eifel tower! Such an incredible landmark geographically and in life! I thoroughly enjoyed the corny super happy post. Keep em coming :) See you when you return-Love from Canada xoxo
13th April 2010

I enjoyed your post. Sounds like you had a good time in France. My blog is looking for travel photos, stories, accommodation reviews, and food reviews. If you have the time and have some to share, email us at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb