half way through!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Millau
January 11th 2011
Published: January 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oooh its been a while since I updated this...
So after a fantastic two weeks at home for christmas and new year, as you can imagine I was reluctant to return. My mum and Ric took me to the airport and I was determined not to cry, I hugged them good bye and began my journey back to france. Sat on the plane looking out the window I fought the lump in my throat back down and decided to think of all the positives about returning to France: My friends, my school, my little apartment how nice people are to me and I have already done the hardest bit, the last 4 months are going to be plane sailing. The woman next to me was the most glamourous woman ive ever seen in my life. When you read a book about the women in Paris been so stylish and elegant you just think its fiction but here was a woman who fit the bill. She started to speak to me, she was french but she said 40 years ago she was a model in London, her English was perfect. We spoke most of the flight and it definitley took my mind off leaving home.
After arriving in Paris I set off to find the hotel which looked so close on the map. However the map had failed to list the little streets inbetween the main ones and a 10 minute walk turned into 40 mins, with my suitcase and rucksack it was awful.
I got to the hotel and the man on reception was really nice and complimented my french 😊 but then he told me I was on the second floor and there wasn't a lift... So after many years of practice I did my perfected damsel in distress routine and he carried my 20kg suitcase upstairs for me, I think he was expected it to be rather light and I saw him walking back down the stairs holding his back... oops. The room was nice and I just wanted to get into bed. I caught up on my soaps and then hit the sack. However and hour later I woke up wide awake and spent the next 4 hours surfing the net.
Needless to say the next morning I looked like death and felt terrible, but I set off to the train station and waited about an hour for my train. The train wasnt as busy as it was when I left for christmas, but I still had someone sat next to me. I fell asleep on the train, I was suddenly awoken and flung my left arm out hitting the guy next to me, I then looked up and realised the ticket conductor was standing over us both, and the man had already given her my ticket as I left it in the pocket in the seat infront of me... I decided to fall back asleep like nothing had happened....
I had to wait about an hour and a half in Montpellier before my bus and I was starting to feel really ill. On the bus I was freezing and kept shivering, I tried to sleep but I couldn't I just felt worse and worse. Back in Millau I stumbled off the bus and got my suitcase. I walked back to the flat which seemed to take and eternity, when I got there I hauled my suitcase up the stairs, unlocked the door left my case in the hall way and went downstairs to lay on my bed. I didnt move until courtney got back, I literally felt like a truck had run me over!
I spoke to Courtney and her boyfriend, Steve for a short while and then just went straight to bed. Wednesday I stayed in bed again, as thursday I was back at work.

Thursday I started at 2, I went in a bit earlier to print off and photocopy my sheets, surprise surprise I still dont have my own photocopying card! I went to my first class where the teacher was outside the room, he told me he had sent me a message sayin the class was off as they were on work experience, at that moment my phone went off and it was his message, great! He offered to buy me a coffee and we sat in the staff room talking, he is really nice and was telling me about how much he loves England. He also told me that his students love me and some only coming to class when Im there, as they feel priveledged to have me take time out my day just for them, how sweet 😊
The next lessons were ok too, and I quickly settled back in like I had never been away.
Friday I had work and met paula for a coffee, then I just stayed in Friday night, nothing very exciting.

Saturday I did some shopping and at night Courtney, Steve and I went out for a few drinks to 'our local' it was a nice chilled night out. Walking home we bumped into some of my students who I really dont like. They were soooo drunk and there only 15 shouting 'c'est Jo' 'hello how are you woman' and things high 5'ing us and stuff rather embarassing... We then decided to show steve the dodgy bar that opens late, as ever it was full of creepy guys so after a few drinks we headed home.

Sunday I spent sorting out my lessons and watching films nice easy sunday.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb