Ive officially been here for a week!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Millau
October 1st 2010
Published: October 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today has been good. We left the hut around 9.30 I went to the administration office to give the woman, who I’m beginning to feel is less than helpful and wants to do as little work as possible, my bank details so hopefully I can get some of my pay earlier than November which would be a nice help. After that Courtney and I headed into town, I had a delicious pain au chocolat from the patisserie on the way yum yum!
Once in town we went round the market that took over the whole town, it was great I bought some scarves as Claire told me that it is important for women to cover up there neck and lent me hers. So I thought I would buy a nice pink and green colourful one and a white one, to wear just so I can feel really French  on a more practical it is cold here on a morning so a scarf would be good.
We then headed to the ‘Inspection’ office were Courtney can report to if she has any problems and she also needed to give them her bank details. Her contact guy Gille was there and he asked us what we were doing this weekend, our reply being nothing, so he said maybe we could have dinner on Sunday with his wife and maybe his family, but he would have to ask his Mrs to confirm.
We walked to the supermarket, and found a quicker way then the 3km hike we took the other day. We bought fresh fruit and salad and pasta some easy things we can eat in our hut.
After arriving back at the hut we went over to the school’s launderette were the lovely woman Marine said we could do our washing. When we got there she just told us to leave it with her and come back at three.
The school canteen shut at 13.15pm and obviously we arrived at 13.20 so lunch at the school was off the menu... so we headed back to the hut and had some food and I then fell asleep… At three o’clock we went to collect our washing which was all dried and folded in a basket for us. I have now decided I love Marine 
Back at the hut I thought I would chill for a bit and get a healthy dose of Robert Pattinson, in the form of twilight. However 20 minutes into the film there was a knock at the door. It was Christine one of the teachers at the school asking if I wanted to have dinner at her house tomorrow evening… BONUS!! She also invited Courtney along so we are going to meet at 3 and go for a walk around the Millau countryside and then head back to hers for drinks and dinner. After chatting to Christine I felt that the school remembered I was here and even though I don’t have my timetable yet they were thinking about me. Then I went to settle back down with R.Pattz when the door went again this time Rick and Didier who also work at the school. Rick told me that the lycée has a cooking school onsite and it trains the students to work in hotels and catering. He also told me that some of my time in the school would be shared with him and I will work with him and a small group of students in a cooking class, as some of the student do an exchange to England to work in hotels etc.
So my day has been extremely good and its only 5p.m the plan for the rest of the day is to have dinner at the school 18.30pm!!! And then head to the lovely Mac Do again for a bit of free wifi!

I saved this blog to post here in mcdonalds, it is now 8pm and after a happy positive blog, here comes the negative.
We set of from the hut at 6.30 and headed for the canteen only to find out friday nights are obviously not a night to eat at the school everything was shut!!!
so we walked towards mcdonalds and thought we would find a restaurant on the way. so after the 15 min walk we came across a restaurant 'une table pour deux s'il vous plait' pas ce soir was our reply! so no food there! we found a chinese buffet across the road that was open then the 15 euro price tag put us off. So we headed further in to town and found a pizza place and had pizza then marched up to mcdonalds.

During this walk I have come to the decision I do not want to live in the chalet becuase to get to it you have to go up the same road you do to gfet to mcdonalds and having experienced that road in the dark its not very nice as there are no paths and the cars come up and down pretty fast as its the main road into the town. I was thinking if I worked late at the school i would have to walk up there in the dark and I really wouldnt want to do that especially in bad weather, and there is no direct bus too and from the lycee or up that road so I think i would rather stay at the school than in danger myself. Hopefully we can just get the really nice apartment by the end of the week.

also note to self never go to mcodnalds at 8 on a friday it will be heaving!!!! but at least there is wifi 😊




Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb