Bike Ride


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Gourdon
September 15th 2011
Published: September 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi All

Well this will be my last posting from Gourdon (until Sean and I return in October). Yesterday I hired a bike and decided to do one of the short routes called Promenade en Bouriane, aiming for a tiny village called St Cirq Madelon. I was most relieved to see the sign ‘Veloroute’ numerous times, knowing that I couldn’t possibly get lost.
I made it to the village (10km’s), took a picture of the church (see below), and that was that! A couple of lovely houses, one I think was converted from a former Protestant temple. It was a reasonably easy ride so I continued on for a couple of kilometres, coming to a main road, so turned back. After passing the sign post for St Cirque Madelon, I must have gone the wrong way - uphill, and more uphill until I was pushing the bike! I was thinking, Im sure that corn field should be on my other side. Finally I admitted defeat, jumped back on the bike (at least I cruised down - I couldn’t believe how far uphill I had come). Then I thought I recognised a log pile and thought nooooo I cant possibly go back up that hill, but fortunately, at the bottom I saw bike riders and where I SHOULD have gone. So all up I cycled at least 25km’s. The road back into Gourdon is uphill gradually, then very steep. I thought I was going to have a heart attack! Then I had to negotiate the steep street to my place. After all that I hadn’t done the homework so once I recovered with a cold shower and icy coke, I exercised the brain. Talk about exhausted! I fell asleep at 9pm. I went for a leisurely ride around town today, but kept forgetting which side of the road I should be on. There is no way I will be driving in France!

PS The countryside on the bike ride was lovely (see below) but coming back it didn’t look as pleasant! This area = rolling hills. I THINK Mooreees the Florist offered me a massage when I told him how far I rode (or maybe he was just saying I needed one) but I explained in halting French that my husband was coming on Saturday and he would do the job!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



15th September 2011

You must have given the leg muscles a good work out. Maz
15th September 2011

OMG. You have turned into the energizer bunny. Well done. Loved Bertie, great photos. Take care, Luv P

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb