Prehistory and old lady falls


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Ariege
July 28th 2022
Published: July 28th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Days three and four
Day three began sloooowly, but early. The worlds loudest rooster seems to be stationed outside our window. That was lovely especially when another rooster started playing call and response......
After a late leisurely brekkie we headed up the road to the parc prehistorique. It was awesome, perfect weather, perfect views, loads to do, being attacked by man eating butterflies, seeing all the wildlife and dodging wasps (I may not have mentioned but I got stung on the neck......)
Despite Seth's desperation to get home to unearth his new fossils from his gift shop purchase I bought everything in the supermarket on the way back, except fly catcher things, something I now regret, having said how few flies there were that seems to have been their call to arms and there are now millions, fighting with the wasps on who is going to be the most annoying.

Friends have joined us for a few days which kept Seth very happily busy till tea when we watched even more wildlife from bats to mantis's and mice that looked like cardboard thrown in for good measure

Day four. I was up early thanks to Ricky the rooster. Seth was persuaded to join me outside for a cuppa until breakfast when the others jobs us. After assembling the washing line (far harder than it sounds) we headed off to the Go ape type thing in the woods. The wasps were the feature of the day (did I mention I got stung?!) From joining us at lunch before the climbing to celebrating the evening's BBQ with us. Great...... Before pretending Seth was six (not a hard I've to pull off really) we ate (with the wasps) and Seth demolished several serviettes in the banner of dressing up. Lunch done Seth and Ash braved the acro branch through the trees. I did not. Having the balance and grace of a drunken toddler I opted to stay down to chat with my friend with a nice ice cream rather than throw myself off tree branches. After batting away the wasps for an hour, I went for a wander to see what the boys were up to and take them a drink. It was treacherous (for me, at least, I was over taken by spritely young things, middle aged men and a couple of elderly ladies) . Steep slippy pathways covered in dry slippy dust. By the time I found the boys my only thought was that I had to get down again. Seth was having the actual time of his life amongst the trees and I was genuinely impressed with his confidence and coordination. I'm sure ash had *some* coordination but in the hour or so I was there he came out of a tunnel backwards with a sore hip, fell off twice and bashed his leg...... I decided to head back down as they were finishing up. It was steep and slippy and, as expected I ended up slipping and falling flat on my backside (two in a week, I'm doing well) so I opted to wait for the others to walk me down the rest of it, just in case!

After a while we were all sat together for a drink before heading off. Seth had been desperate to get something from the shop with his holiday pennies and he had narrowed it down to a water bottle (great, practical, useful) a watch (great, practical, useful) and....a recorder (annoying, loud, of no use). I took him back in to make his purchase and in my haze of wasp fighting/old lady falling I didn't think 'perhaps I should dissuade him from the very annoying thing' until about a minute after the purchase was made..... He headed back out to the others whistling away and by the time I was back all three adults were glaring at me questioning my sanity. Needless to say Seth didn't stop the tweeting, instead causing it to call several small french children to him like some kind of ice cream covered pied Piper.

Resisting the temptation to put the recorder on the BBQ one back at home, we had a lovely evening of wasp and fly fighting accompanied by meat, Seth made dens for foxes and a a bird bath with his friend and the world was put to rights (the recorder has now gone to bed and *may* find it's way to the bottom of the case by tomorrow!) over beer under the stars.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb