And we're off!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy » Alencon
March 31st 2014
Published: March 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Prelog; This April my parents, my Aunt and Uncle and I are taking 2 Landover discovery’s and a defender 110, through France and Spain then over the Med into Morocco. The last couple of months have been a bit nonstop getting all the trucks in a good state in order to put up with the journey. But today we finally launch from Dover and begin the Journey down. My uncle and Aunt have a cottage in France so they left Last Wednesday and are meeting us down at Algeciras in three days before we cross over.

Well we arrived at the port of Dover, and already the Brit border police felt they needed to interrogate me. Not that they were listening to what I said, as it was claimed I told them my parents live in Morocco?! After 5 minutes of "yes you did" "no I didn't!" they gave up and I’m now awaiting the ferry to get me out of this country ASAP. Just a quick update on the truck, I still have far too much stuff but this time the crates fit into a wooden layout so it should be simpler to get to it all, not that it'll be any easier to find anything. Plus another addition to the setup is an overland fridge/freezer which will hopefully be of use in the long run. Uncle Ray was last heard to be at a campsite north west of Madrid. Our first stop tonight is just outside Abbeville. Once there we can finally relax, or realise what we've forgotten! Though I believe it will probably not be relaxing till we cross the Moroccan border and have setup camp in Chefchaoen.

Day two and i finally found some WiFi to write this while eating a chicago classic crappy burger. Unfortunately we're already off to a bad start as Dads truck has got some overheating issue, but with a lack of time and the fact we can ignore it so longs as we stick to 50/60.

Photos to follow as this WiFi isn't free for nothing.

Advertisement



31st March 2014

Enjoy Ashley
Hey buddy. Great to see youre finally off(jealous much). Have a safe journey mate and enjoy your expirence. It was only last night i was going through our photos from 2012 and said to Lizzy i want to go back next year, although i still want to do the Pyrenees in 2015. Watch out for a little arrogant guy up in Chefchouen who is masquerading as a guide ;-)

Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 24; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb