France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Limousin
May 25th 2008
Published: April 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

LimousinLimousinLimousin

Almost reminds me of the American southwest.
After spending a day touring the Gorges du Tarn, I decided that I’d better make tracks towards Brittany, my final destination. The hilly terrain began to taper off slightly, but the French roads never failed to inspire. This area impressed me with its rugged terrain that somehow reminded me a bit of the American southwest. I tried to keep to the backroads as much as possible, running through small villages along the way. The closer I got to the west coast, the more the terrain changed to gently rolling hills.

I was very impressed with the competency of the French drivers in general. If the speed limit was 90 kph, everyone drove 90 kph. There were no dawdlers crawling along and slowing things. Most made an attempt to scoot over and let you by when they saw a motorcycle in their mirrors.

The French moto culture is also impressive. With roughly the same population as the UK, France has twice as many motorcyclists. Almost all of them riding sport bikes or nakeds and of those, almost all of them had their bikes modified with aftermarket goodies or a spiffy paint job. I did see a handful of full dressers
BackroadsBackroadsBackroads

I tried to keep to the scenic backroads as much as possible.
and Harleys, but the vast majority were into sporty mounts.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Softening TerrainSoftening Terrain
Softening Terrain

There were fewer hills as I approached Brittany.


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb