Last day in Crocq :(


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Limousin » Creuse » Crocq
July 29th 2008
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Café CarrazéCafé CarrazéCafé Carrazé

The house was a café and hotel long ago!
Today is our last day in Crocq and we will really miss it! I got up around 8 and walked up to the boulangerie and came back and made coffee and Ken got up around 10. It was a very misty morning as there was a big storm and a lot of rainfall last night. It made for a hot and humid day!We just kind of relaxed in the morning and I took some pictures of the house we are staying in (even messed up as we had it!). At about 1 pm we went out to La Grange aux Marmots for lunch. We left it a little too late as when we arrived the chef told us he was closed. BUT he said he'd make us a lunch anyway as he remembered me from my last visit (thanks to his waitress who recognised me right away!). He mad a nice rillette appetizer, a grilled flank steak with a delicious creamy mushroom sauce and some sautéed zucchini and mushrooms. Then we had some cheese and dessert of rum and raisin ice cream. He is a great chef and his food is delicious! After lunch we walked around the village a bit
Back of the Crocq HouseBack of the Crocq HouseBack of the Crocq House

the part we stayed in is on the second floor
and then drove into Aubusson so Ken could get a look at the town. We walked around a bit and I went back to the spot where I took a photo of the poppies and grabbed a few seed pods to bring home. I hope the little dog at the airport doesn't sniff them out! I had to get the seeds because the poppies were a very brilliant red that I had not seen before! We came back to Crocq and I took Ken out to see the Dolmen d'Urbe. We stopped in at the butcher's and bought some meat for dinner and stopped in at the épicerie for a few essentials and then went home to relax, eat and pack. I'm going to post the photos now and get to bed so we can get on the road at a decent hour tomorrow morning!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Master bedroomMaster bedroom
Master bedroom

We had to put the mattress on the floor as Ken is too tall for the bed!
The progressionThe progression
The progression

this was not done by the kids!


30th July 2008

Winding Down
You must have mixed feelings! Hate to leave/good to get home! A wonderful experience!
30th July 2008

Looks like you have some ...
budding artists there! I was surprised to see how often potatos were on your menu choice. I genereally don't think of French cuisine and potato. You have a nice time in Paris and we'll chat soon.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb