New Challenges


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Bagnols-sur-Ceze
August 15th 2013
Published: August 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Spero - I hope"



A couple of months ago I started my blog with a quote about how just as the life of a candle does not decrease by helping to light others, happiness never fades by being shared. This has given me great food for thought over the past few weeks - and the power of words has been playing on my mind. What we say and how we say it often has a great effect on those around us, whether it is a comment in jest taken seriously or a compliment - everything plays on the emotions of those around us.

Those wanderers among us, whose anchors are not firmly in the ground, are used to meeting many people, to creating friendships and relationships based purely on proximity - knowing full well that unless you ever find yourself in the same country again, you are unlikely to ever be face to face. But this lifestyle, which may come across as negative to those who don't understand it, is a beautiful one, as it allows you to touch with thousands, and gives you the opportunity to meet them, to know them and to let them know you.

So I'm sitting
here on my bed in the south of France, slightly regretting that I didn't write more whilst I was here, but knowing that, despite my lack of motivation there has been much inspiration for my internal thoughts. And that the place, the experiences and the people have all generated another side to my somewhat hexagonal circle of life. And I'm fully aware that I need new challenges, that they are coming my way - professionally and emotionally, but also - the point behind this post - I have decided to challenge myself.

To act upon the advice that I give out - to try and light a thousand candles. To spread my thoughts on happiness, to share important ideas. I'm going to write a postcard to an unknown person in every place that I go and leave it somewhere hidden in the next town that I'm in. And this may sound romantic and air-headed to you... but I don't even care, because if I had to choose between my head in the clouds or my head in the sand - the latter wouldn't stand a chance.

So yes, maybe this project won't last long, but writing this post
makes me more motivated to achieve it, and motivation should never be something that is lacking in your life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb