Paris, day 1


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
April 1st 2014
Published: April 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

I began my travel on 0720 in Tucson on March 31st. I arrived in Paris just before 1700 hours on the 1st. I am still awake, and have no regrets. A 9 hour time difference is partially to blame. But I also landed in Marseille and opted to take a high speed train up to Paris, which may have tacked on some extra travel time. I don't regret it for a second. I was able to experience the enchanting Parisian countryside and coastal scapes from the hum of a train (accompanied by a nice wine, of course). I wouldn't consider southern Ohio, Kentucky, or Napa Valley to even hold hold a candle to the beauty that I absorbed during that journey.



As I sit in the French Quarter, wine in hand and wonderful four course Parisian meal in my belly, I'm left with nothing but my own thoughts.

My shoulders have relaxed, lips curled into a smile... I have discovers that my thoughts and I are no longer at an impasse. I am simply Being. I'm looking around at the architecture and am in honest awe of the beauty held by this city...

I realized why I so relish my solo travels; it's opportunity to be alone and allow my psyche to rest. Ask yourself how often you're alone with your thoughts? And when you finally are, do you have thoughts about defending your thoughts about having thoughts? Are you thinking about this and defending and debating the way you think about your thoughts? You're lying if you're denying

So, as I said... I'm sitting here and had this nice long moment where I was simply existing. Then my human brain wanted to analyze why this was so amazing.

What do we do at work? We speak to patients, patient family members, CO workers, students, preceptees... And then we go home and discuss these discussions. When do you give yourself a break?

The Latin Quarter is where I'm getting mine. Perhaps it's this lovely Bordeaux speaking, but I feel like I took a loading dose for mental constipation. I'm relaxing. This is what this feels like? I may never leave Paris.



Tonight, I did everything I could to get myself lost on foot. I explored every Avenue. I've been everything from awed by the sparkle of a "neighborhood" cathedral to teased by the glittering icon of the Eiffel tower. I've been serenaded by a street performer and surprised by the genuine courtesy of the locals.



This is exactly what I've needed. This isn't the city of love. This city IS love.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb