Classic Walking Tour


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
June 3rd 2013
Published: March 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Napoleon's TombNapoleon's TombNapoleon's Tomb

The outside of the building
Today I did a classic walking tour around Paris. The city is so much bigger than you'd expect! Almost everyone walks or rides a bike and the cars are generally smaller! Some of the streets are even made of cobblestone. It's so amazing! Today was a similar tour to last night. I was able to see a lot of monuments, but I didn't go inside of them. I think one of the most interesting things I saw was Napoleon's Tomb, because you don't normally hear people talk about it. I learned that it was originally built in 1676 by King Louis XIV as an exclusive place for worship for the royal family but stopped functioning as a church during the Revolution and is now the tomb for Napoleon! I think that is so interesting because you don't learn about the history of a lot of the monuments in history classes!

After the tour, I went and hung out at a small amusement park. It was very fun! There were a lot of families there and the experience was great!


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

The TombThe Tomb
The Tomb

The actual resting place of Napoleon!


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb