The Palace Gardens of Versailles


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Versailles
June 26th 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Home to King Louis XIV and Marie Antoinette. This place was unblievable. I didn't even make it into the palace. The Gardens alone took me half the day. For those of you who find yourselves lucky enought to see the gardens and are on a time budget, I would recommened stiking to the left side and center. The right side had something happen (right when facing down to the channel) a few years ago and it seem to still be growing in. Not that it isnt still nice. It is just not as nice as the left side.

Although there were many poeple there, it never felt crowded and many times I found myself alone imagining what it must have been like to walk these gardens at the hight of their beuaty. As I walked through the maze like paths, I was supised at almost every turn. I would just be walking along and all the sudden I would be in a huge circular meadow, or find myself at a quiet peaceful spot full of statues, or a water fontian would come in to view which begged to be studied. There were so many little quarks and suprises.

I was very lucky and got a chance to go back to the gardens on Satarday evening when all the water fontians were on. They also do a sound and light show with fireworks and flames.

The best part:
The gardens are free during the day.

The worst part.
The water fontians are only turned on on the weekends and then it cost you 16 euros to get in.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



1st July 2009

wow
Ahh that place looks awesome I think it is so cool that you are traveling a bit wish I could get that bug, or should I say I wish Stacy would get it. Keep posting pics they are a pleasure to view. Have fun on the rest of your journey and keep posting blog notes. Take Care Ang
2nd July 2009

wow.walking through those stunning gardens...lucky.they look so stunning. and it looks so peaceful there. miss you lots and i won't so i hope your having a fun time cause by the looks of it.you are!

Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 15; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb