BONJOUR PARIS!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Gentilly
October 23rd 2008
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Train to Paris 16 secs
2: La Sacre C'oeur 15 secs
3: La Sacre C'oeur 2 16 secs
4: Eiffel Tower 22 secs
5: Fireworks 19 secs

DAY 1


From London, I took the Eurostar "Chunnel" train to Paris which travels across the English Channel via an underwater tunnel. It began as a peaceful train ride as I enjoyed the views of grazing cows and sheep on the open fields, and every few miles or so little towns sprung up with small cottage homes and always a church in the city center marked by its high steeple roof top. But my peace was interrupted by the couple sitting catacorner from me talking so loud that everyone on the train car knew their entire Paris itinerary, hotel room and credit card information included. It wasn't so much the both of them, but the girlfriend whose volume was turned up way too high. It didn't help either that they were enjoying themselves over not ONE bottle of champagne, but TWO bottles. I was hoping that maybe the second bottle would work in my favor and knock her out of my misery but that was only wishful thinking. I endured such pain the entire ride, but enjoyed temporary moments of blissful silence only when one of them had to get up to use restroom.




I arrived in Paris mid-afternoon. My Paris CS host, Miss Lucile Regard, gave me pretty detailed directions to her place, but it took me WAY longer to figure things out. I was nervous. First, because nothing was in English and second, because I already had it my mind that if I needed help, I probably would have a hard time getting it being told that the French prefer to communicate in their own language. So I opted to just try to figure things on my own and avoid asking any questions as much as posssible. But such predisposition did not work in my favor as I overthought and questioned every move I made - afraid it was going to be the wrong one. In retrospect, there was nothing different about Paris's train system to that of London. The result: walking back and forth for over an hour, my back aching, my feet hurting. I deserved it.

Eventually my retardedness wore out and somehow I got on the right train. At my stop Lucile picked me up in a car. Ahhh...it had been a week since I stepped into one, and it was nice to be on the right-side of the road again. Lucile lives 10 minutes south of Paris in the suburb of Cachan (prononced Cah-shaun, but with a nasally French accent). She actually lives at home with her family who are all cool with the idea of couchsurfing. It was that which sold me on asking Lucile to surf on her couch as I was excited to have the opportunity to experience living in a French household. We pulled up to a very cute 3-story duplex. I entered the Regard home and was welcomed by her mother Christine with a handshake and a kiss on each side of the cheek -- followed by her younger brother Clem (short for Clementine).

Lucile gave me the grand tour - the living room, kitchen, and cute outdoor garden in the back on the 1st floor, Lucile & Clem's room on the 2nd floor, & Misour & Madmoiselle Regard's room on the 3rd floor. To my pleasant surprise, there was a spare room on the 2nd floor with a full size bed just for me 😊. Something I would have to appreciate as I would only be so lucky to have such private accommodations on the remainder of my trip. As I got settled in Lucile inquired on things in particular I wanted to see and do. I told her that I wanted to go the Basilica du La Sacre C'oeur (Basilica of the Sacred Heart) recommended to me by a London CSer. She said that was a good place to go at night and suggested dinner somewhere in Paris if I was interested. OF COURSE!!

We headed off to Paris via bus, then via train, then via another train, and another train. Lucile had it like the back of her hand. In route to La Sacre C'oeur, we got more acquainted. Lucile is 22, has been to the US several times, and couchsurfed across the US for two months back in 2007. She is currently a medical student attending Paris University, is a year and a half away from starting her residency, and actually just finished interning this last summer at Cedar-Sinai in Los Angeles. Her brother Clem is 20, and an Audio/Video engineer (and a DJ on the side) for a Jazz club in Paris. Her dad owns his own print studio, and her mom is an elementary school teacher.

At our destination we walked up the
Hmmmmm....Hmmmmm....Hmmmmm....

My first meal in Paris
stairs from the Metro and onto street level. Paris by night! We were in an area of Paris known as Pigalle, where the famous cabaret Moulin Rouge is located, but more interestingly is considered the red-light district of the City known for its sex shops, prostitutes, and strip of "strip clubs". Every man's fantasy. A little ironic to be in such a place on our way to "church." Lucile led & I followed. La Sacre C'oeur is on the highest point in Paris so you can only imagine the uphill trek to our destination. Phew, the best exercise I got since the jog in Regent Park. I took notice of the very narrow side streets, but as in London, Paris has the classic European architecture of rows and rows of terrace style townhomes, cobblestone roads, with endless choice of shops and restaurants below.

As we approached the top of the hill you could hear the chatter of voices and music playing until suddenly we were surrounded in a sea of people on the streets walking by with wine in hand. The crowd never ceased as we finally reached La Sacre C'oeur. Many were gathered at the staircase in front of the church anxiouly awaiting a fire works show. There were wine, cheese, bread, salami vendors everywhere come to find out that it was the annual Grape Harvest Festival celebrating the new season of wine making. How fitting to be in Paris during such a celebration. I ran short of breath loving the view of Paris at night from atop, especially seeing the Eiffel Tower aglow.

We didn't stick around for too long though as Lucile and I were starving, so we grabbed dinner at Le Palmier across the street from Moulin Rouge. I thought it was a little late for dinner and didn't expect to find anything open at that time, but Lucile quickly educated me that the French typically don't eat dinner until about 8pm at the ealiest, thus restaurants tend to stay open later. We chatted some more sipping cappuccino watching the street goers and indulging in chocolate crepes. Finally, we headed home to get a good nights rest in my own bed.

For more Paris photos click here ------> BONJOUR PARIS Pictures



Advertisement



24th October 2008

Bonjour Lynn!
Ahhh... Paris...how I wish I could be there. Damn that couple for interrupting your trip! You should of snapped at them "Lynn" style. Je vous manque (a little French 101 for you, ;p)
24th October 2008

Lynn!!! Yayy so I have been a little behind because I was without my computer! but dont worry!! I am all caught up and i am loving every bit of it. It seems like you are having the time of your life and I cannot wait until I hear about Germany!!! Love ya!
24th October 2008

Amersterdam
What about Amsterdam?(did I spell that right?) Did I miss a blog or did you not go??? I am sure you enjoyed your steak and fries...I NEED TO EAT! lol The church is beautiful!
24th October 2008

Patience young grasshopper
Keyes -- i'm going in order foolio...Still more of Paris to tell, Brussels, then A*dam...I like to you keep you wanting more...

Tot: 0.366s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb