I made it past the 10 day mark!!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
September 10th 2009
Published: September 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bonsoir!!!

I hope you all are wonderful! I miss you all dearly and love how we can stay connected!! Today marks a huge day in my life! I've made it in another country for a full 10 days without crying!!!! I know it sounds silly...but it's seriously huge for me! haha The last two times I was in France, I stayed for 10 days. On the nineth day of each visit I cried wanting to go home! So naturally, I'm having a little celebration for myself...in my room...by myself...with my new chocolate!! I bought chocolate with caramel in the middle today. OH MY GOSH....DELISH!!!

So anyways, now that you know I really am a big girl I will continue...

The last few days have been pretty consistant! Last night we went to a bar with many of the other students from the CLA. It was nice because there were chinese, Irish, Polish, and French students their with us! It was really neat to talk to everyone. There was this one guy there who was with all the French people at our table. When I heard him speak English I was stunned with how well he spoke! He came over by me and I told him how impressed I was with his English skills!!! He was like "Oh! haha Thank you! Probably because I am American!" Yeah....talk about wanting to sink down in your chair....felt like an idiot...hahaha Oh well! those things happen....mostly to me but that's alright!!! 😊

So today we went to observe a middle school. I was really really different, but really neat as well. We had lunch with the teachers as soon as we got there. Everyone warned us how bad the food was....they were right...not soo good. But the cheese and wine was great! After lunch, I observed an English class and CLA A (French as a second language). The English class was adorable...one of there activities during the lesson was to llisten to Alanis Morsette's Hand in my Pocket song. They were studying adjectives so it was perfect. One of the lines was "I'm brave but I'm chicken shit." The six of us in the back row just died of laughter while the students repeated "sheeekin sheeet!" It was hilarious. Three of the students were orally tested and their scores were read aloud in front of the class. That's one thing I really don't care for in the French Education system...no privacy or discretion with anyone's grades. The French as a second language class was neat too. There were students from Algeria, Albania, Italy, and Kosovo who all spoke good French, but coudn't read or right. Many of them grew up in an Arabic environment and had no concept of the French alphabet. It must be so hard for them to remember how each letter is written let alone trying to put the letters together to form words. For as young as they are, I thought they did great.

Well thats really all the news of the past few days...but I have been seeing some things that are worth noting! Everyday while walking to and from the bus stop I see couples proudly displaying their affection for one another. This reminded me of a couple I saw at the Chateau this past weekend. They were in their 60s as the very least and wouldn't let the other leave their side. They held hands, linked arms, hugged, kissed, looked at each other so loningly...etc. It was so amazing to see a couple at that age be so incredibly IN LOVE with each other still. The most awkwardly beautiful thing though...is that they love and care for each other regardless of how awful they smell. I'm not saying this to be mean...but Holy Crap...the two of them together smelled like morning breath mixed with dog poop mixed with BO. Either they cancel each other out...or they embrace each others smells! Regardless, they are madly in love in their 60s....and that's what I want! (minus the smells 😊 )

BISOUS!!!


Advertisement



10th September 2009

YIKES!
Please excuse all my mistakes....it's been a long day and i definately didn't proofread! whoops!
10th September 2009

You are too much!!!
Alana, I actually have tears coming down as I read your latest edition to this blog. You have quite a humorous side to you. It si always fun to look forward to your daily events in France. Keep up the good work. Miss you alot. Aunt Sue
10th September 2009

Scents
Bonsoir,Honey! You aren't only seeing and living France-seems like you are smelling it too! My Navy days in the 50's let me spend times in the Riviera towns- Cannes, Nice, Gulf Juan, etc. Things were beautiful ,and wine and cognac were cheap but the women had hairy armpits and I can't believe they used Parisian perfume from the neck up and B.O. from the shouders down! But---that was then and hopefully the scent improves. Speaking of scents, a little old lady gets on an elevator, it stops on the second floor and a gorgeous woman gets on and says proudly, "Chanel #5, $60.00 an ounce"/ Next floor a svelt model gets on and says "White Diamonds, $ 82.00 an ounce". The little old lady lets out a loud fart and says---"Broccoli, 49 cents a pound"!!! LUV YA
10th September 2009

hey! :)
HI alana! congrats on the ten day mark!! lol. i bet that french chocolate is good!! Yeahh middle school food isnt the best... in america and france I guess!! have fun! love jennifer
10th September 2009

my little poopie
omg Alana you crack me up I love how candid you are! Such amazing experiences at the CLA with the other students and just every day life in France It makes my day to read your blogs and more importantly to see your face when we skype. It really helps you and us, thank god for modern technology!!Kisses to you sweetheart and as always....all my lovexoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo!!!
10th September 2009

Roomie i am soo proud of all you are doing!! i am sooo happy that you made it past the 10 day mark, and had a little party for yourself!! I love the sheeekin sheeet story, that is so cute i love those little French children!! Im sure that France is starting to realize what a better country it is now that you are there:)!!! i love you and miss you soo much!!! Skype soon please??? xoxoxoxox
21st September 2009

i found you!
Link! I was so glad i did receive these!!! they were in my spam mail but i fixed it all! I love reading this your so cute and I miss you so so much! And next time you encounter the smelly people throw a bar of soap there way! Or sneak it into a purse lol :) love yoU!

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb