No Easter Bunny...But We Do Have an Easter Bell!!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
April 8th 2007
Published: April 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Picnic Time!Picnic Time!Picnic Time!

Enjoying a sunny day by the Doubs.
Happy easter everyone!

Just got back from our picnic down by the river, and what a lovely day it was! Sadly, the easter bunny didn't hop on down the bunny trail to Besancon, but no worries, France's easter BELL supplied me with quite enough chocolate.

When I first heard about the easter bell, I was a bit taken aback...I mean c'mon, a bell? The notion was absolutely rediculous to me and my friends, and after a bit of research, I've learned that I am not the only one who finds this tradition to be strange.

Check out the essay by david sedaris:
http://quandmeme.net/blog/000019.html
(just a note: the english in this essay is suppossed to be what they talk like in French...and I can totally relate.)

Well, I don't have a whole lot else to ramble on about...just thought I'd post some photos.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Me and MarieMe and Marie
Me and Marie

Check out the background. We were in an absolutely beautiful area.
On our Way to the PicnicOn our Way to the Picnic
On our Way to the Picnic

Sadly, this was the first time I'd ever seen this part of Besancon.
Marie is HungryMarie is Hungry
Marie is Hungry

I think Marie wanted Heather to feed her. I'm not sure what I'm doing...


9th April 2007

Easter in Hawaii
Hi Elizabeth-- We are across another ocean and just came in from the beach and watching a huge whale and her calf jump out of the ocean several times...UNBELIEVABLE! I am so happy that your mom and dad got their passports; there were some prayers being said for all involved. I hope that you have a happy Easter--love you and praying for you! Sarah
11th April 2007

GI
Elizabeth I just got back from GI. Spent some time with your dad pre-flight. All I can say is you better have found some joint that serves Pabst. He is going to need it! This is great....You Chris and Sue in France, Sarah and the gang in Hawaii, I am heading to TULSA....I knew that would make you all jealous!
12th April 2007

Alive
Please post a blog letting us know if Chris and Sue made it. Chris, with or without hives.....Thanks

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb