Europe - Day 6


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Corsica » Bastia
August 26th 2016
Published: March 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Trekking!

We had bought sunscreen for this day. However, we ended our preparations there. We didn't heed to the alarm and the day started at 9. Yay! I wore flip-flops, packed my shoes as they were portable ovens. I wore shorts.

We then set out, on foot, to cover 4 small towns and a route spanning over 27 Kms. I thought this would be possible, not a piece of cake, but plausible. However, like in the beginning of any trek, you are gullible and unaware of the pain that awaits.

It was hours of walking in the sun. Music helped, but it can't do miracles. We walked through residential areas, snuck into backyards (no wonder they hate brown people) and snacked every now and then (mostly when I couldn't walk).

As we were walking we stumbled upon a cliff with cross sticking out. Gautham and I were apprehensive about it, we believed in voodoo. Kumar and Vikas walked on and we like sheep followed. The view was worth it, worth disturbing or even stepping on a burial site (slightly exaggerated). Corsica seemed like a combination of two distinct colors - brown and blue. The purest of blues, light and airy. The brown wasn't much of a contrast, it seemed like an extension of the sea. Light and airy.

Sitting there, worry about tanning, I looked on to the horizon. I travel for glimpses like this.

We then walked on, as we did the wilderness changed. The trees grew more dense and pleasant. We stumbled (again) onto a trail, away from the highway we were on. I had to be inspired to venture there. Coaxed even.

We walked, ran through it. I feel down a lot. Scratches all over me. Sweat dripping down my back. I finally gave in and cried. "Why this? why me?" cry. Which soon turned into "Shut up and walk! you aren't weak". The only solace was that Gautham waited for me to catch up, didn't chat with me and laughed as he saw me catching my breath or fall down. It was a strange feeling, it was a mixture of "Nahhh" and "Eh.. why not". We finally saw civilization, but that was someone's backyard. And that backyard had a dog, which might have been cute in other circumstances.

We had an amazing lunch, Cannoli. I ordered a beer, and somehow that made the others feel compelled to do the same. Men! I didn't walk fast or at a good pace after that. I slowed down, zombie-like even and walked through the deserted streets of Bastia. Everything there seemed in place as if they had been planned out after years of trying everything else.



When we finally got home, It was time for a bath. I feel like a simpleton when I do that, bathe, eat curd rice and sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb