The end? No...it's just the beginning :)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Tours
December 15th 2009
Published: December 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

CIMG0581CIMG0581CIMG0581

My darling class of "seconde." (sophomores)
Bonsoir a tous! 😊

The day finally came when I had to say goodbye to my amazing students. I finished all my cards for them and mentally prepared myself by saying it wasn’t goodbye…that I would see them again and most definitely stay in contact. I did VERY well…I shocked myself by keeping it together all day long! The students were amazing...each class surprised me with cake and candy and chocolate and they all gave me kisses at the end! There was a class of all boys that I saw only one time and they all surprised me too by coming in the last five minutes of another class. I took TONS of pictures and they are all already finding me on facebook. I will never forget them…they’ve taught me so much and I hope to remain in contact with them. Let’s face it, when we are older, the age really isn’t going to matter…why not be friends with them!

So seeing as this is my last blog…I figured I would write about the things I’ve discovered here in France…not only about the culture and people, but myself. I’ve had a lot of time to walk around and think…and
CIMG0582CIMG0582CIMG0582

Other half of "seconde"
I truly have a whole new perspective on life, love, and acceptance.

First and foremost, I’ve improved my French. Now, it didn’t happen smoothly and easily….I’ve made quite a few mistakes! I now know the words for spider, marker, and checks, after completely confusing them with the words for spinach, sperm, and balls respectively! It’s quite amazing how one letter can change the meaning of the word entirely! I’ve also learned plenty of words never to say at the dinner table! Whoops! teehee

I’ve learned that there are about 8735345587 different types of toilets here in France. You’d think the flushers would be relatively similar, but NO…they have to complicate things making it very confusing for foreigners. There are flushers located on the side of the toilet, the right hand side on the top of the toilet, a button on the wall, a chain you pull from the wall, a handle you pull from the side, a knob you pull straight up, and a button you push in the middle of the top. But beware of this one…there are two buttons in one…the smaller one is just for pee and the bigger of the two is used for
CIMG0593CIMG0593CIMG0593

Adorable LV2...Seconde as well!
more than pee. Again, anything to save water!!

I’ve learned that chocolate cake is completely acceptable for breakfast and wine is completely acceptable every night for dinner! Bread is used to “clean your plate” when you finish a meal and for cheese. I’ll have to stop that when I get back to the US because mom doesn’t think it’s polite to clean my plate with my bread. Haha

I’ve learned to be patient doing laundry, realizing that one load itself takes about an hour and a half just in the washer. Oh and dryers? Not needed…they have a drying line or rack to throw your wet clothes on!

On to the more serious things…

I’ve learned about life and how to be independent. Living at the University of Akron for the past 4 years has most definitely given me my independence, however, the fact that I was only 45 minutes away from home still allowed me to run home whenever I needed too. Well, that’s not exactly the case when you’re across the ocean. I was forced to truly handle everything on my own. I had only myself to count on and at times it wasn’t
CIMG0609CIMG0609CIMG0609

I had this class one time...and they all came to surprise me! (juniors)
easy…but I made it through and came out a stronger more independent woman.

I’ve learned that my greatest strength is my greatest weakness. The thing I love most in life is putting a little piece of heart in everything I do. Because of this, I become easily attached to people and surroundings. I knew I would become attached to everyone, knew I would love everyone, but my goodness, these students and everything else here completely exceeded any expectations I had. They yell for me in the hallways, write to me, and constantly thank me for being there. Therefore, having to leave the most incredible people I’ve been blessed to meet is breaking my heart. Some people may think I’m going overboard with how much I fell in love with France…but I know if they just walked for a little bit in my shoes, the feelings would be the same.

I’ve learned that it’s okay to make mistakes. How can someone go through life being completely perfect, never making a mistake? As glorious as that may sound, I think it makes them weaker. People become strong individuals by learning what is right and wrong, knowing why things are right
CIMG0649CIMG0649CIMG0649

The most well behaved class ever! Premiere! (juniors)
and wrong, and sometimes experiencing things to help you along the way. I’m not a perfect person, and I’d be lying if I said I’ve never made a mistake. Look at me! I mess up the language and sometimes make myself look like an idiot here, but I’ve learned from every mistake I’ve made! In my opinion, it’s not the mistake that symbolizes a person, it’s how one changes and grows from it. The past is the past, and it’s up to you to change the future.

I’ve learned to never dwell on the negative. I could have easily had a miserable experience here if all I ever talked about was my living arrangement, but I’m a very positive person. I try to find the good in everyone and in every situation I’m in. Yes, I happy 99% of the time and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I can’t stand hearing people say how their life is so much harder than everyone else because they have so much work, so busy, never have time for anything, yada yada yada. Be happy, be thankful for the things you have, and try to find the positive things in life.
CIMG0651CIMG0651CIMG0651

Terminale! (seniors)
No one wants a Negative Nancy!

I’ve learned that the world has so much to offer. It’s absolutely unbelievable how every country is so different. It boggles my mind how some people never have the desire to see the world or learn another language. I understand not learning another language…we speak the universal language….but still, I don’t really care for that mentality. What makes us better than anyone else? There is so much to see,, so much to do, so much to learn, so much to experience, and so much to appreciate when you are taken out of your comfort zone and your home. If you have the means, travel. There is so much out there…

I’ve learned that being a teacher is quite possibly one of the most rewarding jobs. No, teachers aren’t paid nearly enough, and they most certainly don’t get the credit they deserve, but the past 4 months for me have been the most rewarding months of my life. Seeing students progress and excel in class because you taught them is the best feeling. It requires patience, flexibility, and encouragement, but at the end of the day, it’s worth it. For all you teachers
CIMG0568CIMG0568CIMG0568

The two BEST teachers I have ever worked with!
reading this, I know exactly why you teach, and I hope you know what an impact you make on students in school and in life.

I’ve learned about acceptance and tolerance. France was a culture shock for me. It took me a while to adjust and adapt, and now that I finally have, It’s time to leave! Figures! Anyways, along with this culture shock came different views, morals, and beliefs. A good portion of the time, their beliefs and views on things were very different than mine. However, when discussing my own views, no one judged; they just listened and accepted with understanding and interest. It took me by surprise because there are a lot of people in this world that think it’s either their way or no way. That alone drives me crazy. I have my own beliefs, but who’s to say mine are the “right ones” when other people think theirs are? Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and it doesn’t have to be the same as your friends, your parents, or the norm. No one can make you believe something and judging people for having different opinions is just flat out rude and closed minded. Accepting and tolerating different opinions helps us see other points of view that we may never have thought of and helps us become more well-rounded individuals.

I’ve learned that there is nothing more important than family. I am extremely blessed to have the family I have. My grandparents, Aunts, Uncles, Cousins, and Friends who are my family mean the world to me and my parents and brother are the most amazing people in my life. Being away from them was hard, but thanks to Skype, we were able to see each other as if we were in the same room. Without them, I wouldn’t be where I am today and words cannot begin to express the appreciation I have for everything they have done for me, given me, and taught me. They raised me to be a strong, independent, and loving person and I owe every bit of success that comes my way to them.

As I end my voyage in France, I’m beginning a new one. I will take all the incredible memories with me and apply everything I’ve learned into my future job and my life. Am I still the same Alana that I was before I left? Absolutely, but I have more of an understanding of who I am, what I believe, and what I want to accomplish. If you remember back in the beginning of my stay…I spoke about happiness. Well after 4 months, countless life lessons, and moments I’ll never forget, I believe I’m truly happy. 
I can’t thank you enough for following me on my journey. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I had and I can’t wait to see you around the holidays!

I’m coming home!!!

I love you all and one last time….BISOUS!!!!


Advertisement



16th December 2009

Sorry, but you're not marrying a french guy. See you soon!
16th December 2009

i will eat chocolate cake here with you, for breakfast and dinner, just like in France.. roomie will be happy!!!
16th December 2009

O my gosh Alana how proud I am of you. You are a beautiful butterfly that has gone through the the stages of life and now are on your way to fly. Every parent has dreams and hopes for their children,and we hope they take advantage of the path we've laid out for them. You have, and its been your own, with constant encouragement ,love beyond words,and gentle guiding. We couldn't be more pleased and are grateful, but thankful you'll be coming home. Your words read like butter and you will chrish these blogs forever......can't wait to see my baby girl.All my love sweetheart,mommy.xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox...
16th December 2009

The end? No...it's just the beginning
Hi Angel: You have had a wonderful journey and learned so much about life and I am happy for you, but now it is time to say "WELCOME HOME, WELCOME HOME, WELCOME HOME, WELCOME HOME. Can't wait to see you! Have a safe and "short" flight home and remember always I Love You!!! Grandma xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox
16th December 2009

Bittersweet
You blend so well with your environment! Enlightening message. Very true, life is the best teacher of all. Our pathways are different in life. Our choices do have some impact, but then, we are given different options and choices to choose from. No two alike. The true universal message. Proud of you to understand the message. Love and kindness, patience and understanding get us through it all. BTW loved the xmas card. Very cool to get something from France! Love Aunt Karen.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb